Absolute Best Pancake Syrup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
Absolutely fabulous as the name and everyone else says. I wasn't sure what to expect - it's thinner than regular syrup. It bubbled up after the baking soda, but the bubbles will subside in a bit. If you let it sit, it separates, but will swish back together easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
Delicious. Kids love this much better than regular store-boughtsyrup. The leftovers store well in frig but congeals; so it needs to be rewarmed to thin. I've been experimenting & like the leftovers better when I've used a little less flour than the recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
This is the mother of all syrups...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2015
Yum! Perfect. My son doesn't like hardly any sauces or dips of any sort, but he HAS to drench his waffles in this. That's a total win in this household.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
I make this recipe exactly as written. It is the BEST! Never buy store syrup. Be sure to use a large pan...I didn't use a big enough one the first time and like a science experiment it overflowed all over the stove top. I just made it again to go over pumpkin pancakes on this site. I roasted pecan pieces to top it off! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
Why not just use Maple Syrup? It's the best thing ever for pancakes and waffles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
This was delicious! One of the negative reviews said she was hoping for a Cinnabon taste. To me it tasted very much like Cinnabon. I used brown sugar instead of white to make it more like caramel. When you add the baking soda, be prepared for it to foam up quite a bit, but after you let it sit for 5-10 minute the foam settles down. I served this over sweet potato pancakes and it was a big hit with everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
No SERIOUSLY this is the BEST!!!! Syrup EVER! I had no clue syrup could taste this GOOD!!! OH MY GOD!!! I've been eyeballing this recipe and wow! Just wow! I agree with a previous review, I'm going to up the cinnamoney or add some nutmeg, ;-p. Also, I made my buttermilk from scratch, I'd probably use lemon insteinstead of white video ger, but definitely mix it well before making syrup, bc the curds remain in the syrup...no odd taste just, rather not have it. But this syrup is SO true to it's reviews it was completely devine...um, um, good! Who knew? Who knew syrup could taste so good? Hum...thanks for sharing! Also, I will NEVER buy store bought again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
Just tried this. I had to substitute a few things and wanted to change the sugar to create a darker taste. From my adapted recipe, I would change 2 things and suggest to not pre-butter whatever you will use this on. Alternative Recipe for Best Syrup 1/4 to 1/3 c. Butter 1/2 c. White granulated sugar 1/2 c. Dark Brown Sugar 1 c. Lactose Free Milk (actually I would have used vanilla soy milk) 1 T Vanilla Extract 1 T Corn Syrup 1/4 to 1/2 t Ground Cinnamon 1/2 t baking POWDER (no metal taste) 1/2 t Flour (may use gluten free oat flour) Cook as directed previously. Turn heat down to medium. Then add the baking powder and the flour and whisk to combine. Continue whisking and as syrup builds on sides of pan, wash it down with a pastry brush. Cook a total of 5 mins longer than other recipe. Cooking longer will result in liquid too thick to use as syrup. Refrigerate after use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
This is the BEST homemade syrup recipe I have ever had! Actually it beats anything that I have had from a store as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Haege

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 279) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Best Waffles

Making delicious waffles from scratch is easier than you think!

Homemade Pancake Mix

Hungry for hotcakes? With this premade mix, they’re ready when you are.

Best Ever Crab Cakes

Delicious, homemade crab cakes that come together quickly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States