Absolute Best Liver and Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2015
Tasted great. However, I put leftover in fridge and microwaved at work next day and the liver had greenish parts. I didn't eat it .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alice Nelson
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2015
Another convert! I have tried several times over my life to "like" liver. It was always unsuccessful. Soaking it in milk really does the trick! I ate my whole slice and then went back for seconds. Liver is such a healthy organ; it's the first that the upper level predators go for. Try this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rich74

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2015
I love this recipe, much better than any I have tried before. I don't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2015
Best ever liver recipe I have tasted to date will definitely be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2015
We added chopped bacon to the butter and onions to add flavor. YUM! Also, we use the left overs (make a double batch) for a spicy liver sandwich spread. We put the left over liver & onions in a food processor along with some cream cheese and sliced jalapenos (from a jar..add a lot if you like it spicy, the cream cheese mellows it out) and pulsed until the desired spreadable consistency. Double yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2015
Culinary nastiness! Soaking the liver in milk for at least two hours absolutely did not improve the flavor of the dish whatsoever. We even tried dipping the liver in various sauces: barbecue, ranch, A-1, ketchup...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2015
I only soaked for less than 1 hour and it tasted great. Easier to buy precut liver as cutting it up when tender makes it less firm while cooking. I kept seeing the reviews on all the husbands that loved it and guess what? Mine did too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz Gicharu

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Vanessa
Reviewed: May 19, 2015
No changes at all. I just made gravy because that's how I like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2015
I made this the other night for my 81 yr old grandmother who is on a strict diet. She called me and said "that liver was slamming, it was the best I ever tasted". "Don't forget me when you make more". I think that says it all. I only gave it four stars because I haven't tried my piece yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2015
I will definitely make this again. I did make changes, however. I soaked in milk for an hour and a half and it was perfect. Changes: did a dredging system of flour, egg wash then more flour and used 50% corn flour 50% regular flour. I also put bacon in my onions, cooked them off first, used that pan to cook the liver, pulled out fried liver and let sit on paper towel to pull off any excess grease, threw onions back in pain for a quick heat and put liver back ontop. Served with mashed potatoes and sautéed mushrooms. So. Fricken good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Simply-Sunshine

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 322) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Absolute Best Liver and Onions

This recipe will make a liver lover out of even the pickiest eater.

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

The Best Chicken Fried Steak

See how to make real Southern-style chicken-fried steak with creamy gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States