Absolute Best Liver and Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2003
mmmmmm! this realy is the best recipe for liver. I had never thought of soaking in milk before. When I tried it last night it came out fantastic. It was tender, moist and delicious. Not the usual "shoeleather" quality that liver can sometimes take on. Yes I belive this recipe will convert liver haters into liver tryers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
126 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Akron, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2003
My husband is a HUGE liver & onion fan and he LOVED this, as well as the fact that I made it for him. I have only really eaten a few bites off of his in the past, so I just had a few nibbles & thought it was good (I love the onions). Thanks JSHULER, my husband thanks you too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2003
This rating comes from hubby, although I did give it a little taste and I must admit that it was pretty good. He came home with calves liver, which I've never cooked, so I was happy to find this recipe. I never would have thought to soak it in milk. He absolutely LOVED this "J" and thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2003
I made this last night for dinner at the request of my fiance. I have to admit, liver has never been my favorite dish, and I've never made it before, but this recipe was so easy, and it's true, the milk takes out all of the bitter taste. If it was good enough that I cleaned my plate, it deserves 5 stars!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My4NonBlondes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Astoria, Oregon, USA
Living In: Leesburg, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2003
I made this last night & it was truly fabulous! I had 5 other recipes to choose from, but the soaking in milk facinated me. It's very simple & cook time is quick! Just keep J's 3 tips in mind & I did soak the liver for about 2 hrs prior. I will definately add this to our fav dinners list
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2003
it was moist, delicious, and most of all easy easy easy!! i soaked the liver for about 30 mins, and i liked liver without soaking it in milk, but i dont think i will ever eat liver and onions again unless im using this recipe, it was fabulous!! thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHADO_STAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2003
I'm giving this recipe 5 stars even though I will only use it to make liver for our kids. As my husband and I ate it, we noticed the strong liver flavor was missing. We grew up with that flavor and LIKE it. LOL!! So, we will not soak our liver in milk, but will always do the children's. (I just can't believe the milk is so effective in getting rid of that flavor.) I'm glad to have found this for the kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2003
I have always hated liver, but my husband loves it. I needed to learn how to cook it. When I found this, it even smelled better before I cooked it. Now he wants to know why do I cook liver every week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2003
While I don't think I will ever be a liver lover, I did want to cook it for my husband because he loves it. My children who until now refused to eat it because I had never wanted too, loved my "country fried steak"! And even I thought it was better than the rest of the times I've tried it. Their dad asked how they liked the country fried liver and onions and they were a little shocked but decided that they were still crazy about it! Which is great because it's cheap! And we're on a budget! My mother-in-law told me that that is why she fed my hubby and sis-in-law liver so often when they were growing up. PLUS, it's good for you. But I still won't eat more than a bite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DONIGL

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2003
Since my husband hates liver, I waited until this evening when he had to go out to make this for myself. I halved the recipe...other than that, I didn't change a thing. What a treat this was! A relaxing evening at home with one of my favorite meals - and no one complaining about the "liver smell." I truly enjoyed this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Athens, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 290) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Absolute Best Liver and Onions

This recipe will make a liver lover out of even the pickiest eater.

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Beans with Pearl Onions

An easy balsamic glaze provides a flavor twist to this classic green beans dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States