Absolute Best Liver and Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
Great recipe. Perfect. No need to change a thing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
Very good! I'd never tried soaking in milk. I found that it mellows the "liver taste." This is either good or bad, depending on whether you like that flavor in liver. The criticisms are coming out of personal preferences, rather than anything not so good about the recipe. Some don't mind - or even enjoy - that slightly bitter taste, while others DO. The milk definitely helps reduce it. Flouring the liver is also a matter of preference. I usually prefer not to use flour, because I can keep better tabs on the internal doneness, which IS a vital factor for good liver. It should remain at least a tiny bit of pink, to insure moistness AND to avoid that "granular" quality that liver has when it is too well cooked, and which almost nobody likes. Overcooking is the most important thing to avoid. I'd love to make it crispy outside and slightly pink and moist inside, but it's not truly possible unless the liver is quite thick. I also brown my onions (LOTS of them) very thoroughly, and always include rashers of crisp bacon. Some garlic in the butter is also nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chapala, Jalisco, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
It's a great recipe! I really enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
I just made this because I had severe blood loss and I needed iron. I have never had any liver and onions before so it is likely it's not the recipe, it's just inherently liver and onions, thus the two stars. I gagged this down and mainly swallowed everything whole. Liver is SO GOOD FOR you, but I am clearly too wimpy for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2013
Awesome! The only thing I changed was that instead of milk, I soaked it in buttermilk...the old-fashioned way. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReddGypsy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2013
This is the best ever!! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Goshen, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2013
My boyfriend loves liver and onions, so he asked me to make it for him...I was intimidated to say the least, but this recipe seemed easy to follow, and it turned out wonderfully! (At least, he really really enjoyed it...I admit I didn't have any.) Thanks for the non-threatening liver recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana Sweeney

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2013
Really good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: May 8, 2013
This was my grandmom's recipe I grew up with! My family has always used it. Except we've always used Calves Liver. It melts in your mouth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2013
Thank you for sharing the recipe. I'm not much of a cook, but am working on it! This recipe is very easy. I would never have thought of soaking in milk. Absolutely tender enough to cut with a butter knife. I didn't have Vidalas on hand, substituted a yellow onion and a red onion. Nice mild flavor with that mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 305) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Absolute Best Liver and Onions

This recipe will make a liver lover out of even the pickiest eater.

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States