Absolute Best Liver and Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by Melanie
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
My husband is a big fan of liver and onions and very picky about the way it is made. He absolutely loved this recipe and couldn't get enough. The whole family loved it. It was very good and plan to share this recipe with family and friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
I can't stand liver, but we got a bunch of it for free, so I had to find a way to use it. This is really the best recipe for liver I've ever tried. It removes all the metallic flavor from the liver. I added a little onion and garlic powder to my flour and I also serve it with a onion gravy. Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
I really really love this recipe! Very easy and simple. It doesn't cost much to buy at the store or make. Very delicious and me and my family simply loved it! Definitely will be making it again. The only thing I did different was soak it in Soymilk bc that is what we have next time I will use whole milk just to see if there difference. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
I have a very low blood count (Anemic) and was told liver was a very Iron rich food. I despise the taste, but am willing to try this recipe in the name of good health! LOL! Thank you for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Armywife2248

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anniston, Alabama, USA
Living In: Mcdonough, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
Poopsie thanks you for this recipe. We've never truly liked liver (it's a texture thing for us), but we do prepare it here and there as a nice treat for our beloved, elderly pooch. As it was for our dog, I made it without the carmelized onions (fantastic for humans, never good for canines), sauteed a bit of minced garlic with a minimal amount of a butter/olive oil combo and had soaked the liver in milk overnight. Enhanced it with a bit of crumbled, lean turkey bacon for her, as we always keep things lean. After preparing, I just had to try some, and it was quite tasty. I'm not sure we'll ever venture into liver territory, but our furry one LOVED it. She says thank you for posting. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2014
I was forced to eat liver growing up and have never once made it as an adult. However, for some reason (prob low on iron) I found myself craving it and found this recipe. I have never heard of soaking liver in milk, but ok, gave it a shot, and since the only liver I could find in the grocery store was frozen, I actually just soaked it overnight in the milk. Had no idea how it was going to turn out, but it was so good I ended up having seconds, the kids both ate it, and husband even liked it. Guess that milk trick really works!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2014
This didn't sell me. I'll give it a few stars for the fact my hubby and father-in-law liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2014
Great recipe overall...love seeing the soaking in milk step like I have always done. I saw Julia Child do that years ago and knew how important it is but I am amazed at how many people just fry it right out of the pack and then complain of the strong taste! A great tip by the way, since you are already doing the caramelized onions, do a huge batch up and make onion marmalade to can a jar or two. Back to the recipe at hand, the only complaint I have with the directions is that someone who hasn't cooked liver before really needs to understand what is done. Liver is much like steak in that by the time it gets to the completely done stage, it gets tough since it keeps cooking after you pull it off the heat. You really need to pull it off when it's still slightly pink and that's if you want it completely done...we prefer it pinkish for tenderness. Also, you need to add the onions back BEFORE it's done for this same reason. The time given is actually too long...for the average thickness the way most is packaged, four to five minutes is plenty of time in a medium/hot pan. I also recommend adding some garlic powder to the flour dredging mixture or some seasoned salt. To really send this recipe off the charts, make a gravy out of the drippings left in the pan...not too thick, and serve it on the side but it is awesome poured right over the top and served with some thick biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kymbrown1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Boiling Springs, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Lawrenceburg, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2014
So delicious! I used to cook liver in vegetable oil, but this tastes better and I will continue to splurge on the butter! The only things I changed was to soak the liver in buttermilk and to cook the onions until they were caramelized and then add them back to all the liver at the end just to heat through. Caramelizing the onions makes them even sweeter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda D.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: May 4, 2014
You are leaving out one important ingredient BACON. LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 317) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Absolute Best Liver and Onions

This recipe will make a liver lover out of even the pickiest eater.

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

The Best Chicken Fried Steak

See how to make real Southern-style chicken-fried steak with creamy gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States