Absolute Best Liver and Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 28, 2014
I was forced to eat liver growing up and have never once made it as an adult. However, for some reason (prob low on iron) I found myself craving it and found this recipe. I have never heard of soaking liver in milk, but ok, gave it a shot, and since the only liver I could find in the grocery store was frozen, I actually just soaked it overnight in the milk. Had no idea how it was going to turn out, but it was so good I ended up having seconds, the kids both ate it, and husband even liked it. Guess that milk trick really works!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2014
This didn't sell me. I'll give it a few stars for the fact my hubby and father-in-law liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2014
Great recipe overall...love seeing the soaking in milk step like I have always done. I saw Julia Child do that years ago and knew how important it is but I am amazed at how many people just fry it right out of the pack and then complain of the strong taste! A great tip by the way, since you are already doing the caramelized onions, do a huge batch up and make onion marmalade to can a jar or two. Back to the recipe at hand, the only complaint I have with the directions is that someone who hasn't cooked liver before really needs to understand what is done. Liver is much like steak in that by the time it gets to the completely done stage, it gets tough since it keeps cooking after you pull it off the heat. You really need to pull it off when it's still slightly pink and that's if you want it completely done...we prefer it pinkish for tenderness. Also, you need to add the onions back BEFORE it's done for this same reason. The time given is actually too long...for the average thickness the way most is packaged, four to five minutes is plenty of time in a medium/hot pan. I also recommend adding some garlic powder to the flour dredging mixture or some seasoned salt. To really send this recipe off the charts, make a gravy out of the drippings left in the pan...not too thick, and serve it on the side but it is awesome poured right over the top and served with some thick biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kymbrown1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lawrenceburg, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2014
So delicious! I used to cook liver in vegetable oil, but this tastes better and I will continue to splurge on the butter! The only things I changed was to soak the liver in buttermilk and to cook the onions until they were caramelized and then add them back to all the liver at the end just to heat through. Caramelizing the onions makes them even sweeter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda D.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: May 4, 2014
You are leaving out one important ingredient BACON. LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
I have always soaked my liver in milk an have found it really makes a huge difference.My mom taught me. an this is a fantastic recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
I made this for my husband today and he said it was delicious. Tender liver with great flavors. I did add a little olive oil with the butter so that it did not burn, used red onions (Vidalia would have worked great too) and added a touch of minced garlic to the pan a couple of minutes before serving. If you do add garlic be careful not to add to soon as garlic burns quickly. I served the liver with scrambled eggs and new potatos for brunch. Next time I'll serve with sauted Shitake mushrooms as well. This is a great recipe...thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
This was the easiest and best recipe. The liver and onions tasted just as good as the best I've had at any restaurant. I've made this with both Vidalia onions and white onions both were good but I do recommend the Vidalia. I also Fried some bacon which is a personal favorite addition of mine with liver and onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
My husbands favorite meal. Soaking the liver in milk really is the key. It takes the bitterness away but it also tenderizes it. I follow the recipe as printed but after cooking, I make a milk gravy in the browning of the liver/onions in the pan and put the liver/onion back in the gravy and put a top on it and simmer for 15 minutes. It is very tender and the gravy is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
This best I have ever had it! prep and cook time was fast and easy. I soaked the liver overnight in the milk. No bitter taste to it all. I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 302) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Absolute Best Liver and Onions

This recipe will make a liver lover out of even the pickiest eater.

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States