Absolute Best Liver and Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
I have always soaked my liver in milk an have found it really makes a huge difference.My mom taught me. an this is a fantastic recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
I made this for my husband today and he said it was delicious. Tender liver with great flavors. I did add a little olive oil with the butter so that it did not burn, used red onions (Vidalia would have worked great too) and added a touch of minced garlic to the pan a couple of minutes before serving. If you do add garlic be careful not to add to soon as garlic burns quickly. I served the liver with scrambled eggs and new potatos for brunch. Next time I'll serve with sauted Shitake mushrooms as well. This is a great recipe...thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
This was the easiest and best recipe. The liver and onions tasted just as good as the best I've had at any restaurant. I've made this with both Vidalia onions and white onions both were good but I do recommend the Vidalia. I also Fried some bacon which is a personal favorite addition of mine with liver and onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
My husbands favorite meal. Soaking the liver in milk really is the key. It takes the bitterness away but it also tenderizes it. I follow the recipe as printed but after cooking, I make a milk gravy in the browning of the liver/onions in the pan and put the liver/onion back in the gravy and put a top on it and simmer for 15 minutes. It is very tender and the gravy is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
This best I have ever had it! prep and cook time was fast and easy. I soaked the liver overnight in the milk. No bitter taste to it all. I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
Yummmmnny !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
I am a HUGE liver lover and this has become my goto recipe for liver and onions. I omit the process of soaking the liver and milk however, because I love the taste of liver and I feel like it takes away from the taste. Glad I used to always go over my grandparents house for liver and onions or order them when I went out to the diner. Now I can make it at home and it's so much cheaper. Thank you for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Kingston, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
This was our first experience with liver and even then only because my son requested it. We all decided that this would be a once a year meal for us. We agreed we like the recipe it's just the liver we had issues with. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
We just don't like liver and we ordered pizza. Yes, I followed it to a T
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
I enjoyed this recipe very much! I wisked some flour in beef broth and made a delicious gravy with a splash of cooking sherry. Will be making this again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kendall Carrigan-Lawrence

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 297) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Absolute Best Liver and Onions

This recipe will make a liver lover out of even the pickiest eater.

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Beans with Pearl Onions

An easy balsamic glaze provides a flavor twist to this classic green beans dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States