Absolute Best Liver and Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
I followed it exactly BUT I decreased the quantity of liver and onion to suit my appetite. The most important thing is to soak the liver in milk. One can use a cheaper cut of liver and it will taste like the most expensive calf liver - it also takes any bitter taste out of beef or lamb liver. I have used that tip for years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
Not big on liver, but soaking it in milk makes the difference. In addition to the onions I added in some mushroom pieces and a little chicken broth. It turned out pretty well. I'll eat this more often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
followed recipe to the "t" and it was perfect! made husband very happy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
I will try it again, it's maybe the slice of my liver or something, but I think it was a little tasteless, and maybe my fault it was a little too floury tasting. One reviewer called it a good base recipe. I think that's the best description. I'll update next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
This is the same way, I have been making liver for the past 30 years, the only difference is, along with the onions, I add 2 or 3 jalapeneos seeded, and cut in half lengthwise , I do not slice them so the onions will not become too spicy, also because I like to fish them out, and give to those guestst, that can really apreciate them, including myself of course.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
The milk makes the liver great. Try buttermilk also...even better. When I use buttermilk I soak all day and periodically pour out the old buttermilk and pour in fresh. Then I use some of the buttermilk at the end to make a pan gravy. Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2012
My wife used to buy Liver twice a year (neither one of us like liver) we would eat a little of it and toss the rest in the bin. When asked why? she bought it, she replied it had great Iron content. Let me say this and make it crystal clear since finding your recipe,we now have liver every "WEEK" and there are no leftovers. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alec devine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
Best liver and onions by far,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
It tastes just like my mom's and I don't believe she soaked hers at all. I just tasted like liver to me. The onions were GREAT (but they always are when sauteed), I added curry and used sunflower seeds grinded up as a flour since we're grain-free. But otherwise it was just like ok and my DH who says he never had it, never wants it again lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
This was absolutely wonderful! I think that soaking the liver in the milk made a major difference in the liver flavor. Thanks!,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 307) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Absolute Best Liver and Onions

This recipe will make a liver lover out of even the pickiest eater.

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

The Best Chicken Fried Steak

See how to make real Southern-style chicken-fried steak with creamy gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States