Absolute Best Liver and Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: May 14, 2012
The milk makes the liver great. Try buttermilk also...even better. When I use buttermilk I soak all day and periodically pour out the old buttermilk and pour in fresh. Then I use some of the buttermilk at the end to make a pan gravy. Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2012
My wife used to buy Liver twice a year (neither one of us like liver) we would eat a little of it and toss the rest in the bin. When asked why? she bought it, she replied it had great Iron content. Let me say this and make it crystal clear since finding your recipe,we now have liver every "WEEK" and there are no leftovers. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alec devine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
Best liver and onions by far,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
It tastes just like my mom's and I don't believe she soaked hers at all. I just tasted like liver to me. The onions were GREAT (but they always are when sauteed), I added curry and used sunflower seeds grinded up as a flour since we're grain-free. But otherwise it was just like ok and my DH who says he never had it, never wants it again lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
This was absolutely wonderful! I think that soaking the liver in the milk made a major difference in the liver flavor. Thanks!,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
Fabulous! I followed the recipe exactly, except I removed the fibers and membranes from the liver before I cooked it. Wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Pretty darn yummy! I gave this recipe only 4 starts simply because I didn't follow the recipe to a "T". I am currently dieting and cannot have flour or butter, so I followed the recipe omitting the flour and butter aspects. I also took the advice of a fellow reviewer and sauteed garlic with the onions. It is DELICIOUS! I love Liver & Onions and this just re-affirms my love for it! When I am no longer dieting, I shall try it with the flour and butter. I can only imagine what kind of Heaven that will be!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
I am so sorry to say i was disappointed. Maybe I did something wrong, but I didn't like liver before and this one did not change my mind. In fact the liver made me feel sick since it's all liverey and such like. The milk did seem to help, but not enough. I'm severly anemic and was hoping for help, but it's going to have to stay iron infusions for me. I hope the recipe works for someone else though!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
I was actually rather surprised when I first ate it. I could barely taste the liver flavor after I soaked it for an hour and a half! Even my mother and sister ate it and were shocked that it turned out decent, and they LOATHE liver. I was just going to give the beef liver I have in my deep freezer to my one uncle who is the liver fan in the family, but I think I'm going to keep it now. Thank you! This is a recipe I'm going to keep using from now one except I'll soak it over night instead to get the rest of the flavor out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lilladychief

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
It's a good recipe. I really like liver and onions, but I haven't found a recipe yet that is much different than any other. I'm giving this four stars because while its very good, it doesn't seem to be much different than any other recipe I've tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 302) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Absolute Best Liver and Onions

This recipe will make a liver lover out of even the pickiest eater.

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States