ABC (Absolute Best Chewy) Chocolate Chippers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2004
Not a bad cookie, but I found these to be too cake-like and a little on the dry side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2003
These cookies were really good.. I found that they had WAY to many chocolate chips, if I make them again I will reduce it to 1 - 1-1/2 cups. I have tried better chocolate chip cookie recipes so I can't give these 5 stars, but they were gobbled up pretty fast in this house!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2003
Not good. They were dry and cake-like -- I did not eat them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2003
Tough crowd reviewing here! Would agree that this is a soft cookie rather than a chewy one. I do have a couple of suggestions...make sure you folks are using Kosher salt not Sea salt. Could account for the chunks some of you tasted. Using unbleached flour gives you a denser, chewier cookie than bleached flour will.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2003
This is a decent cookie recipe and does indeed produce a chewy cookie. That is, unless you overbake. Contrary to the submitter's suggestion, I found the ideal baking time to be between 12.5 and 13.5 minutes. Anything longer than that and the cookies turn pretty hard after a few hours. Hint: if you start to see the cookies browning, get them out of the oven. Also, I though the recipe called for a little more salt and definitely more chocolate chips. I found the corn syrup to be needless after baking a second time and would add just a bit more white sugar instead next time. This is an excellent recipe in the fact that it does produce a wonderful and balanced texture. I ended up with 40 cookies and were eaten by my husband and I alone in 4 days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2003
Didn't find it to be that much extra effort for a dern fine cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2002
Yummy cookies, and I very much appreciated the detailed instructions and tips. I'll never try to "drop" cookies with dry hands again, and parchment paper really saves time on clean-up! I love the toasted nut flavor and the little zings of saltiness from the kosher salt. Perhaps not the ideal recipe for a "quick batch," but they're tops for taste. Watch the cooking time - overcooking leads to VERY hard cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2002
Okay, yes, these are time-consuming, but perfect for when you really want to impress. Take them to a bake sale or potluck dessert table, and they will be standouts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2002
This was a good cookie, but honestly, not worth the degree of trouble. Good, but no better than some much simpler recipes I've used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Juneau, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2002
This recipe is a little more complicated than your average cookie recipe, but worth the extra effort. They taste just like my favorite cookies from the mall!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

See how to make chewy, bakery-style cookies.

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake the perfect chocolate chip cookie.

Absolutely the Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

Try these addictive cookies, featuring milk-chocolate chips. Mmm.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States