Abby's Chicken Rollatini Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
I liked this, hubby did not. :( We both agree that the wine flavor is too overwhelming in the dish and if I make it again I will use chicken broth instead. This may just be personal preference b/c we both love wine but not so much in our food. Also, it took more like 45-50 minutes to cook all the way through. All in all I would love to make this again with some modifications. Also, I did not care for the raw garlic in this at all. I love garlic, but the raw garlic was overpowering in some bites. It's a good base recipe but needs some work in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNY-REDS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glenmoore, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
I make this all the time (so much that my husband has asked for a break from it!). It is easy, yummy and low-carb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Germantown, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
I made this with the help of one my 9yr's. We had a blast making it together. Even my picky eater ate it! We served it with the Penne Russo a la Vodka like someone suggested and added fresh spinich to the chicken before we rolled. The whole meal was such a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
This recipe tasted great, and wasn't that hard to make. I didn't have the problems some had of "escaping" cheese. Having said that, I probably won't make again. My husband thought it was great, the flavors were fine, but just not my cup of tea, I guess. I would suggest that you mix the parmesan cheese with some planko bread crumbs, so that it stays on the poultry better. I grated my parmesan with a micro grater, which worksd great, but parmesan grated that way is very fine. It just didn't stay on well. Dipping in an egg first then the cheese would help it stick, too. Glad I tried it, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Coupeville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
After reading the reviews, I sauteed the garlic and a few slices of vidalia onion in some olive oil and used that in place of the garlic and butter. I also added a lemon pepper rub on each side of the chicken before rolling (put this under the parmesan cheese) I used fontina cheese instead of mozzarella, which worked very well with the prosciutto. Instead of the 1/4 cup of olive oil, I used some leftover vegetable broth I had in the fridge. It took a little longer than 30 mins, then I thickened the broth/wine mixture with some cornstarch, broth and fresh ground pepper and poured that over the chicken. Served with linguine and roasted asparagus. Very delicious recipe, will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TDHarper
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
I followed the recipe as written, however, I did substitute thinkly sliced ham in place of proscuitto. While there were no complaints from the family, overall I thought the recipe was rather bland. However, I'm rating this a four not for the flavor of the recipe itself as much as for the inspiration it's given me to try different rollatini. A good chicken dish, especially for families with picky eaters. Will try again, but next time will experiement more with the stuffings and spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
Great recipe! I was up at the cabin this weekend and didn't have an oven, so I used the slow cooker. It turned out amazing! 3 1/2 -4 hours on high did the trick. I was only able to fit 3 rather large rolls in the pot, though. The only down side is that most of the cheese melted out of the rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
This was an amazing recipe!! I was worried about the cooking time, but it really does cook in half an hour! By the time everyone was done eating this dish was completly gone. It was very moist and had an amazing flavor. I will definetly use this recipe again and possibly add spinich to the center next time as well. I was cooking for someone that can't have cheese too so i made a separete type for them. I didn't use the cheese and I put mushrooms in the center with the everything else-- Even this turned out great! A great dish all around!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
My husband loved this chicken. I thought it was bland. The cheese melted out into the pan, so all the cheese flavor was lost. I think it would have been really good if the mozzarella hadn't leaked out, but without it, there just wasn't much flavor. My husband thought it was good, so I will be making it again, but I will probably add some spices to the inside of the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
Delicious, and super easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 229) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Parmesan Bake

This could be the fastest, easiest chicken Parmesan you’ll ever make.

Chicken Cordon Bleu II

See how to make chicken cordon bleu in a creamy white wine sauce.

Easy Honey Mustard Mozzarella Chicken

Baked chicken is glazed with honey-mustard and topped with bacon and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States