Abby's Chicken Rollatini Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
This was pretty good.... I still prefer my bf's version a little better (surprise!), but w/ a few mods, I think Abby's can stand up to the competition! Here's what I did to make Abby's recipe "mine." First, I heated 2 T butter over m-h heat, sauteed ea. chx. breast (I 1/2'd the recipe) until evenly browned on all sides, then simmered on low for 30 min. My other changes were subs. 1/4 c. chx. broth (3/4 t chx. boullion granules would work also) for EVOO, add. appox. 5-6 fresh sage leaves to ea. rolled breast (what's saltimbocca w/o sage???) & using fresh shredded Parm instead of the canned stuff. I also skipped the step of adding add'l. prosciutto on top. My changes for next time would be as follows: a) DON'T roll chx. (just layer ham/sage/cheese on top), b) brown chx. in 1.5 T EVOO, c) red. 1/2 c. chx. stock (not broth) by 1/2 in a sep. skillet, d) add red. stock & 1/4 c. wine (Marsala or chardonnay) to chx., then deglaze over high heat, scraping all browned bits (yum!), e) boil until thickened & (finally...) f) swirl in 1 T butter for added richness. These changes would take this recipe over the top (IMHO). Served w/ seasoned potatoes, steamed green beans, garlic bread & the rest of the leftover wine, this made a nice dinner! Thx. for sharing Abby :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
not sure why everyone likes it so much, it is too boring, there just isn't enough flavor for me, and way too much effort for something that is only OK
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
Made it a few times, IMO 1/4 cup olive oil was too much, second time 2 TBs worked for me. I added fresh bread crumbs with the cheese as first layer on the meat interior, also used arrugala and shallots in the stuffing, (if and when I use spinach I'll saute it first) subbed virginia ham for the prosciutto. Had no problem with the garlic. Tied the rolls with folded strips of aluminum foil a la Jacques P. I did grate my own Parmesan and I subbed for the mozzarella according to what I had in the fridge. Easy to make, easy to improvise and impressive when sliced and served.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
really good have made twice and it turned out great both times . i had to up the seasoning the second time . the first was a little bland i don`t care for bland food. will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Deer Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
This was very good. We make a similar dish using imported ham and swiss cheese. A little white wine and rosemary are added as well. We've always received compliments!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
YUMMMM!!! I used truffle oil as well as a mix of shredded asiago & parmesan when I prepared this dish and it was so delicious! I also put the garlic cloves in a food processor with truffle oil before I added it to my chicken...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
WOW! FOLLOWED THE RECIPE, ONLY COULDN'T FIND PROSCIUTTO, USED KRAKUS HAM (SLICED THIN) ON THE INSIDE, I FRIED THE HAM IN BUTTER TO RELEASE THE EXTRA WATER..DIDN'T COOK HAM FOR THE OUTSIDE..TURNED OUT PERFECT..WHO NEEDS TO SPEND THE EXTRA MONEY FOR THE HAM, COULDN'T TASTE THE DIFFERENCE...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tinley Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
So simple and soo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
Have made this a number of times, it's ooh so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
Pat really liked it, Mindy thought it was good. Kids were not impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindy Nettesheim-Flynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pewaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 229) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Parmesan Bake

This could be the fastest, easiest chicken Parmesan you’ll ever make.

Chicken Cordon Bleu II

See how to make chicken cordon bleu in a creamy white wine sauce.

Easy Honey Mustard Mozzarella Chicken

Baked chicken is glazed with honey-mustard and topped with bacon and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States