Abalos-Style Hamburger Soup (Picadillo Filipino) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 17, 2013
Very delicious! We don't like fish, so I left out the fish oil. I did add 2 dashes of Tabasco and Worcestershire sauce as it was a little bland when I did the taste test before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
Delish! This is a wonderful soup! I made a few changes.. added two tomatoes instead of one, and a small chunk of ginger. I also cut the amount of fish sauce to 1 tbs. Its very tasty and wonderful over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
I gave this a 5 star for its simplicity and ease. It's also different from the other stews because of the addition of the fish sauce. It gives it a bolder flavor. Be careful with it though...if you're not used to it, it might be a bit much. So cut it down to just about 1 tbsp. It is definitely meant to be eaten with rice. And don't use ground beef with more than 15% fat otherwise it'll be too greasy. Thank you for the recipe. My boys loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
Very good and very easy to prepare. I used a can of diced tomatoes and 3 beef bouillion cubes. Left out the fish sauce because I didn't have any on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Collins, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Brandon, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
I didn't really care for this. It's pretty salty, and yes, not draining the ground beef makes it a bit fatty. I added cilantro because I had it on hand, but I don't think it made much difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
I made it as written except I used canned tomatoes and cooked the ground beef seperately. I served it over rice. The family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by justadab

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
I thought this was a really good base recipe. I didn't have any fish sauce so I substituted with some chili powder. We like our food spicy anyway. I also added some celery because I had some to use up. I just threw everything in a pot and let it simmer. Really simple and really easy to clean up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
As the author of this dish, the fish sauce is supposed to be optional in place of salt for more of an asian flavor. I guess that got lost in allrecipe's editing. Anyway, feel free to add your favorite vegetables to the basic stew. I find that parboiling the potatoes first in a separate pot, then adding them near the end, prevents them from soaking up all the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
We really didn't enjoy this recipe. It was edible, but none of the flavors were really interesting. I regret adding the ground beef in with the vegetables and then adding the rest of the ingredients; perhaps I should have browned the beef in a separate pan, drained, and then added it to the soup. As it was it was way too fatty. We won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Decatur, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States