Aaron's Chocolate Chunk Oatmeal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2001
It's good, but it needed a little work to make it that way. For starters, there's absolutely NO way this dough can be rolled...it's way too gooey! Dropping it by rounded tablespoons is much easier. Secondly, it takes longer than 8 to 10 minutes...it took me about 13 or 14 to finally get the center to stop being so doughy. Third, it is a little too sweet, just a little. Half a cup of chopped pecans takes the edge off, and I added 2/3 cup of toasted coconut for extra flavor. With a little tweaking, this is one great cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2002
First of all, Amanda, let me tell you that you are my cookie SAVIOR! These are some of the best cookies that I've ever had and I have you to thank for it! I used a sour cream white cake mix and chocolate pudding instead of the butterscotch, along with melted butter to sub for the vegetable oil, and I had a truly phenomenal cookie. Nothing I've made lately has turned out but these cookies! These are my husband's new favorite. I'm never going to try another oatmeal cookie recipe again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medical Lake, Washington, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2004
I make cookies for church every week, and this recipe has become my standby...the variations are endless. I've gotten super raves and requests for the recipe with these combinations, all with Duncan Hines mixes, plus I always add 1tsp of baking powder: 1. golden butter cake/French vanilla pudding/Crasins 2. lemon cake/lemon pudding/lemon zest/chopped pecans/dipped the balls in sugar before baking 3. golden butter cake/cookies & cream pudding/choc chips
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2002
At 11pm, realized that I had forgotten to make the cookies I had promised for a co-worker's birthday celebration in the morning. Found this recipe, and, like others have said...it is VERY quick! Didn't have white cake or chocolate chips, so I did the reverse -- chocolate cake with white chips. Used white chocolate pudding instead of butterscotch, and added 1/3 cup of coconut, in addition to the oatmeal. They're great if you like a VERY sweet cookie. My kids love them! They were fairly greasy. Next time, I'll try using 1/4 cup of oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by POPPASQUASH

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Tiverton, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2006
Versatile recipe and nice to make if low on flour and butter. Perfect for what I needed; have lots of mixes and puddings, and sour cream I needed to use up. I used a BUTTER PECAN mix, butterscotch pudding, and BUTTERSCOTCH CHIPS. I also had an egg yolk and some egg wash from a bread I had made, so measured 1/4 of the egg wash and threw in along with the egg yolk. I therefore added about 1/3 cup more oatmeal. Used a combo vanilla and butter flavor extract. These scooped out so easily on the cookie sheet using a cookie scoop and even with a medium scoop, they make alot. Did not spread much so can put alot on each sheet without fear of overcrowding. The taste is great and does not taste like cakemix at all. Tastes like there is a ton of carmel, or brown sugar and butter in them. Yum. Also threw in 1/3 cup of raisins and that was a nice addition. Very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2006
Great recipe, i substituted Devil's Food Cake mix and Vanilla pudding. Also, instead of 1 cup of choc chips i did one cup mixed of choc chips, white chips and walnuts. My Husband loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
I truly enjoy these cookies!! This is the first time I've ever made "real cookies" before and I found the recipe quite simple. I used PISTACHIO PUDDING mix and WHITE CAKE mix. I love anything pistachio. Also substituted the vanilla extract for ALMOND EXTRACT and added a tsp. of baking powder and 1/4 vegetable oil. I took note from the other reviews. Dough was very sticky and took shape rather nicely. WILL MAKE THIS AGAIN!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DontEatAnimals

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2005
Update 12/07: I just made these again and they were the best yet. I made according to the recipe except I used a DH German Chocolate mix and added about 1/2 cup of pecans. These were absolutely wonderful. Super fudgy and no one would guess how quick and easy these were to make. I used a cookie scoop and got 2 sheets of cookies. These took about 12 minutes to bake. Previous review of 12/05: These were very quick and easy. I used a Duncan Hines spice cake mix and French vanilla pudding. In addition to the chocolate chips, I added some pecans and a handful of white chocolate chips. I was skeptical about the recipe not calling for any eggs, but they were perfect in texture...they didn't spread too much and the next day are still crisp on the edges and chewy in the middle. Because of the extra ingredients I added, I had to press everything together so it would stay in a ball when placed on the cookie sheet, but it was worth it because the pecans are great with the spice flavor. I used a cookie scoop and baked them about 10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
These were so simple, and so very good! Since the recent egg scare, I've been looking for a cookie that was eggless. This one wins by a mile! Thank you for the excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
very easy and very soft moist cookie. So many ways of changing it around by using different pudding flavors/chips/nuts ect. I added butterscotch chips and pecans. I did have to cook about 13 minutes at 375. Made about 20 cookies and were gone the next day. Will definatly repeat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Chocolate Cranberry Oatmeal Cookies

Bake delicious oatmeal cookies with white chocolate chips and cranberries.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States