Aaron's Chocolate Chunk Oatmeal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2006
Versatile recipe and nice to make if low on flour and butter. Perfect for what I needed; have lots of mixes and puddings, and sour cream I needed to use up. I used a BUTTER PECAN mix, butterscotch pudding, and BUTTERSCOTCH CHIPS. I also had an egg yolk and some egg wash from a bread I had made, so measured 1/4 of the egg wash and threw in along with the egg yolk. I therefore added about 1/3 cup more oatmeal. Used a combo vanilla and butter flavor extract. These scooped out so easily on the cookie sheet using a cookie scoop and even with a medium scoop, they make alot. Did not spread much so can put alot on each sheet without fear of overcrowding. The taste is great and does not taste like cakemix at all. Tastes like there is a ton of carmel, or brown sugar and butter in them. Yum. Also threw in 1/3 cup of raisins and that was a nice addition. Very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2006
Great recipe, i substituted Devil's Food Cake mix and Vanilla pudding. Also, instead of 1 cup of choc chips i did one cup mixed of choc chips, white chips and walnuts. My Husband loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2005
Update 12/07: I just made these again and they were the best yet. I made according to the recipe except I used a DH German Chocolate mix and added about 1/2 cup of pecans. These were absolutely wonderful. Super fudgy and no one would guess how quick and easy these were to make. I used a cookie scoop and got 2 sheets of cookies. These took about 12 minutes to bake. Previous review of 12/05: These were very quick and easy. I used a Duncan Hines spice cake mix and French vanilla pudding. In addition to the chocolate chips, I added some pecans and a handful of white chocolate chips. I was skeptical about the recipe not calling for any eggs, but they were perfect in texture...they didn't spread too much and the next day are still crisp on the edges and chewy in the middle. Because of the extra ingredients I added, I had to press everything together so it would stay in a ball when placed on the cookie sheet, but it was worth it because the pecans are great with the spice flavor. I used a cookie scoop and baked them about 10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2005
I have made these many times and ALWAYS get great response! Delicious and EASY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2004
I make cookies for church every week, and this recipe has become my standby...the variations are endless. I've gotten super raves and requests for the recipe with these combinations, all with Duncan Hines mixes, plus I always add 1tsp of baking powder: 1. golden butter cake/French vanilla pudding/Crasins 2. lemon cake/lemon pudding/lemon zest/chopped pecans/dipped the balls in sugar before baking 3. golden butter cake/cookies & cream pudding/choc chips
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2004
These were AWESOME! Every single person that I shared them with absolutely LOVED them! They requested that I make them again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Joliet, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2004
I wasn't a big fan of the butterscotch taste but loved the concept. I think I will use chocolate cake and pudding mix next time for a brownie type cookie. Since my daughter liked this cookie I will make again with a few changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2004
If you are used to baked goods that are entirely homemade, this isn't the recipe for you. The use of the cake and pudding mixes makes the cookies taste "artificial." However, if you need something quick and easy to make, these are fine. My husband and parents loved these, but they didn't taste good to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2003
Oops! In my earlier comment about using this recipe to make great brownies, I forgot to mention to be sure to make the changes I stated earlier (ie, substitute 1/4 c. packed brown sugar for the pudding mix, and add 1 tsp. baking powder to the dry mixture) and use a Devil Food Cake Mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2003
"Yuck" would be a generous rating. I was very disappointed with these cookies. Far too oily and "unique" taste was not as good as even the most basic Toll House recipe. I won't be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Chocolate Cranberry Oatmeal Cookies

Bake delicious oatmeal cookies with white chocolate chips and cranberries.

Outrageous Chocolate Chip Cookies

Peanut butter, oats, and chocolate chips create an outrageous treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States