Aargau Carrot Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2000
This is a delicious cake. By far the best and easiest carrot cake recipe I have made. I doubled the recipe and baked it in a 9x13 pan and it came out great. My only complaint was that the glaze was very thick and hard to spead evenly on the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2002
i loved this recipe so much that the cake isn't completely finished, and i'm about to make another. and another thing i love about it, is that there is no oil, butter, or shortening in it. but i did find it just a bit too lemon-y.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2005
Sooooooooooooo yummy & moist . . . I was looking for a recipe that was light - the ones in the recipe books looked really dense and heavy - and this really hit the spot. My favourite recipe from this site so far. So why didn't I give it 5 stars? Well, I had to change a few things . . . I halved the sugar, and replaced half the ground almonds with raisins and chopped walnuts. And I didn't ice it. With those adjuctments it was definately full marks, but as I had to make those changes myself I felt I could only give it a four. Anyway, definately try this recipe! I promise it's well worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FADEDDREAMS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Braintree, Essex, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2006
Tasty cake, but does tend to stick! Very good with the addition of flake coconut. Be warned however that I found the statement "no added fat besides what's naturally contained in the eggs" to be misleading: the 1 cup of ground almonds is going to add what you may see as significant, albeit "good", fat in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2005
As a reviewer said before me, it turned out really thin and I think tasteless. I lined the pan with waxed paper and it helped A LOT! The sides of the pan needed a can of elbow grease for it to come clean. I carefully followed the recipe....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2005
Good if you want something way different than traditional American carrot cake. It tasted good, just different. Lots of lemon flavor. Light texture, but almost too light, and almost too sweet. This went over only so-so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2005
Really wonderful carrot cake, amazingly light, and fresh tasting. I substituted ground walnuts for almonds, as I didn't have almonds and cut the sugar back to 1/2 a cup, and probably could have done with even less. No need to frost this cake, but the glaze sounds good, too. This recipe is quite simple, and makes a beautiful cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
I'm from the Canton Aargau myself and I gotta say this is the real deal. In Swiss German we call it Aargauer Rueblitorte. It is true, we are very famous for the carrots we grow :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2005
Made this for my friend's b'day the past two years in a row and everyone LOVED it -- it was gone in a minute!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2005
I've made it twice, this is my favourite..I also used less sugar (a bit more than a 1/2 cup). Frosting just adds extra calories, not the taste..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States