Aaahh! Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
I thought it was great. I read what everyone else added and did the same..a little this and that! I used a carton of chicken broth and 2 cups of water and did 2 russet potatoes and 2 Yukon potatoes, one carrot chopped up, and 2 green onions. Near the end I added crunchy fresh cooked bacon, cayenne pepper (just a dash or two) fresh ground pepper and I used a cup of heavy whipping cream and threw in a small box of Velveeta cheese. Added bacon on top ... My husband and son LOVED it! Yes a very heavy "fat free" soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
A true family favorite! I usually triple the recipe and add chopped bacon, chives, salt and freshly cracked pepper in to the soup which adds so much flavor that there is never a drop left!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenR04

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
Delicious and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
Made the recipe as written for a church event which required all soup submissions to be uniform. Not surprised that almost all of the 4 and 5 star reviews included major revisions and/or additions to the recipe. The recipe as written is incredibly bland although it has a large amount of sodium (from the packaged potato mix). I agree completely with all of the reviewers who suggested adding seasonings, onions and other vegetables, and/or substituting real potatoes for the packaged potatoes, etc. With these changes the recipe would rate more stars, as others have noted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
This was super yummy on a cold snowy Utah day! The only thing I did different was I added a little onion and used half and half instead of cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
Super awesome! Four stars because I changed a few things. Following other recommendations I added finely chopped/shredded onion, celery, and carrots sauteed in butter before I added the other ingredients. Tossed in a handful of chopped ham for fantastic flavor! I also pulled a few scoopfuls out, mashed 'em up, and stirred them back in before adding the cream. I bet next time I can add lower-fat stuff and the texture will be just as creamy and delicious! Au gratin, who knew?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
It was hard to get the right consistency. I wanted to add more water, but did not because I didn't want the soup to taste watery. I liked how easy it was and the minimal ingredients needed. I think I am going to read through some of the other reviews and see what adjustments they made so I can get it right! Definitely don't forget the cheese, chives and bacon bits on top. Adds such good flavor and texture. My husband and I put some Chalula hot sauce or Tabasco in our individual bowls to add spice :) YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
Delicious soup! I followed other advice and skipped the au gratin potato mix. I added a 1/2 stick butter and used 6 potatoes. I also crumbled bacon onto the top of each bowl to give extra flavor. I like seasonings, so I added garlic powder, onion powder, salt, and pepper. I think this would be fine without my additions. I just like to customize my food. Try this and enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missuscurlz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Acworth, Georgia, USA
Living In: Lancaster, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
I absolutly love this soup. i do it just as written. i mde it tonight but added diced up hickory spam and I used canned milk. I put chunks of velveta in when I added the milk it was the most delish ever
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
This was very easy to make. I added another potato, one chopped stalk of celery, and about another 1/2 cup of water to cover. Boiled on high for about 15 min, or until potatoes were tender; meanwhile, I sauteed a small onion in butter and added it when I added the milk. Instead of cream, I used 1%, because that's what I had, and it turned out wonderfully. Very filling and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 267) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States