Aaahh! Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
I thought it was great. I read what everyone else added and did the same..a little this and that! I used a carton of chicken broth and 2 cups of water and did 2 russet potatoes and 2 Yukon potatoes, one carrot chopped up, and 2 green onions. Near the end I added crunchy fresh cooked bacon, cayenne pepper (just a dash or two) fresh ground pepper and I used a cup of heavy whipping cream and threw in a small box of Velveeta cheese. Added bacon on top ... My husband and son LOVED it! Yes a very heavy "fat free" soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
A true family favorite! I usually triple the recipe and add chopped bacon, chives, salt and freshly cracked pepper in to the soup which adds so much flavor that there is never a drop left!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenR04

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
Delicious and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
Made the recipe as written for a church event which required all soup submissions to be uniform. Not surprised that almost all of the 4 and 5 star reviews included major revisions and/or additions to the recipe. The recipe as written is incredibly bland although it has a large amount of sodium (from the packaged potato mix). I agree completely with all of the reviewers who suggested adding seasonings, onions and other vegetables, and/or substituting real potatoes for the packaged potatoes, etc. With these changes the recipe would rate more stars, as others have noted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
This was super yummy on a cold snowy Utah day! The only thing I did different was I added a little onion and used half and half instead of cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
Super awesome! Four stars because I changed a few things. Following other recommendations I added finely chopped/shredded onion, celery, and carrots sauteed in butter before I added the other ingredients. Tossed in a handful of chopped ham for fantastic flavor! I also pulled a few scoopfuls out, mashed 'em up, and stirred them back in before adding the cream. I bet next time I can add lower-fat stuff and the texture will be just as creamy and delicious! Au gratin, who knew?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
It was hard to get the right consistency. I wanted to add more water, but did not because I didn't want the soup to taste watery. I liked how easy it was and the minimal ingredients needed. I think I am going to read through some of the other reviews and see what adjustments they made so I can get it right! Definitely don't forget the cheese, chives and bacon bits on top. Adds such good flavor and texture. My husband and I put some Chalula hot sauce or Tabasco in our individual bowls to add spice :) YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
Delicious soup! I followed other advice and skipped the au gratin potato mix. I added a 1/2 stick butter and used 6 potatoes. I also crumbled bacon onto the top of each bowl to give extra flavor. I like seasonings, so I added garlic powder, onion powder, salt, and pepper. I think this would be fine without my additions. I just like to customize my food. Try this and enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missuscurlz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Acworth, Georgia, USA
Living In: Lancaster, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
I absolutly love this soup. i do it just as written. i mde it tonight but added diced up hickory spam and I used canned milk. I put chunks of velveta in when I added the milk it was the most delish ever
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
This was very easy to make. I added another potato, one chopped stalk of celery, and about another 1/2 cup of water to cover. Boiled on high for about 15 min, or until potatoes were tender; meanwhile, I sauteed a small onion in butter and added it when I added the milk. Instead of cream, I used 1%, because that's what I had, and it turned out wonderfully. Very filling and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 267) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States