A Very Popular BBQ Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2007
Boil the ingredients. The instructions don't say anything about cooking the sauce, but it is much, much better after its been cooked. As is, it was very gel-like, but cooked, you get a very flavorful sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
299 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2006
Ran out of Sweet Baby Ray's and needed something to make BBQ Country Style Ribs submitted by Glenda U. It would be foolish to ever buy the store bought kind again. You just can't compare them. This was great! Husband loved it, kids liked it....my 10 year old even put some on the side for dipping. I did exactly what the recipe stated. Also, I don't really think it had a "kick" it was sweet and tangy. This is my BBQ sauce for now on. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
177 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
Great BBQ sauce!!! I cut the recipe in half for smoked baby back ribs. There's really no need to put this in a blender, just a bowl. I highly recommend putting this on the stove in a saucepan and letting it come to a boil for about one minute. Then take it off the stove and let it cool. This will let it thicken and allow the flavors to come through. If you like a sweeter sauce keep this recipe the same, if not cut back on the sugar. If you're like me and like a smoky BBQ sauce add 1/2 tsp. of liquid smoke for half the recipe or 1 tsp. for the whole recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
171 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
wow this is an extradonary sauce. its great the way it is but if you add my modifications, you will have the greatest bbq suace you have ever had. instead of 1 tbl worcestershire sauce use 1/2 cup. add 2 cloves of garlic (minced). delete pepper sauce and use 1 teaspoon of ground cayanne pepper.if this isnt the greatest sauce you have ever had let me know.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2006
WOW - this is one killer recipe! I think it's unfair for cooks to make half a dozen changes and then rate so I prepared exactly as written and yum yum yum! Some of the best spareribs I've ever prepared. Note - I did you use Chipolte Tabasco for the hot sauce because it was all I had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RAYKATS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Malaga, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2006
I needed a quick bbq sauce fix to marinate, then cook 1.5 lbs of boneless pork ribs in the oven for tomorrow. I chose this one because I had all the ingredients and it sounded good. I scaled it to yield 8 - just the right amount for this meal. I wish I had made more. I followed each measurement exactly and love the result, especially for this. A perfect taste/texture for an overnight marinade and cooking. Thanks. It's a keeper for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2005
So at first I didn't really love it, but it was ok. I let it sit over night and the next day I tasted it and it seemed a little better. Well it definitely has grown on me, I love it. My hubby loves it too, and he is very picky about this sort of thing. I will say that it has a little more of a kick to it then I prefer so next time I will use a little less of the dry mustard. No more ketchup for me anymore, I put this stuff on EVERYTHING!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2005
This is the BEST BBQ sauce ever! Found this recipe one day when out of bottled sauce, and it was fantastic! I will never buy bottled BBQ sauce again, my family won't let me! I find using a hand mixer is better than the blender, not quite as messy. We now double the recipe when making as it goes so fast in our home. Great on beef, chicken, pork, you name it. We also warm it with a little beer to give it a different flavor. My picky 10 year old loves it too! Try it, you won't regret it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Great sauce! I have made this several times now and I feel I have it perfected at least in my mind. I used only 1 cup brown sugar, 1 1/2 cups ketchup, 1/4 cup balsamic and 1/4 cup red wine vinegars, 1/2 cup beer, 2 1/2 tablespoons dry mustard, 2 tablespoons Worcestershire sauce, 2 teaspoons sweet Hungarian paprika, 1 teaspoon each of Emerils Bayou Blast, onion powder, garlic powder, black pepper and kosher salt. After blending well I simmer it for almost an hour. This is so good on so many different things! If too spicy it can easily be adjusted but the best thing about it is, it is so much cheaper to make this sauce than it is to buy any of them from the store. Try it! You won't be dissapointed. FYI Instead of pizza sauce use this on a pineapple and ham pizza. It'll make your eyes roll back in your head!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fremont, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2006
I'd cut back to about 1 cup of sugar, but this was wonderful and so easy. I really liked that it didn't have to cook in advance. Thanks for sharing -- this is a KEEPER.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susanna Joiner Boyd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 206) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States