A Very Popular BBQ Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
I only add hickory smoke flavoring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Huntmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mentor, Ohio, USA
Living In: Perry, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
This is so easy and so good. I had about 1/4 cup of tomato sauce left over in the refrigerator so I also added that to use it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
My husband asked me a week later where was the barbeque sauce i used, I told him i made that sauce so today im making a double batch he really liked it(we really like it).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jazziegirl09

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
I ran out of BBQ sauce and needed something fast using the ingredients I already have. I only used half the recipe and I didn't have red wine vinegar or sweet chili sauce so had to use apple cider vinegar and a little cayenne pepper. I cooked it and put it in a squeeze bottle after it cooled (my son loves spicy bbq sauce on his hot dogs). Although I love sweet and spicy sauces, I didn't "love" this one as it was a bit too sweet for me. I added more Worcestershire sauce, a little garlic and onion powder to cut the sweetness. It came out perfect. This will definitely be my permanent go-to BBQ recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
Ok people, I must confess, I am a bit of a bbq sauce snob. I have several favorite recipes, all take a ton of ingredients and time to simmer. Tonight, I found myself in a pinch. I was making grilled pork chops, quickie dinner for the kids, and planned on using my usual Sweet Baby Rays brown sugar bottled sauce. Gah, I was out! So I hit up Google to find a quick, sweeter sauce, which is my preference. I hit on this gem. I didn't have high hopes, despite the reviews, because I have faith in the sauces and methods I have used in the past. The only substitution I made was apple cider vingar instead of red wine; partially because I was out of the red, also because I prefer the apple cider vinegar in a sauce to be used with pork. I added a bit of granulated garlic, for personal preference. And I also went a bit light on the ground mustard, as the container was almost empty and I didn't even realize it! Like others, I let it simmer for a bit. It tasted quite decent raw, but the flavors really need some heat to gel. Once it finished, it was amazing! I prefer a sweet sauce, so this was right up my alley. Those that don't, just decrease the brown sugar. I used Sriracha for the hot sauce, and a few extra squirts of it. It gives a fantastic background heat, mild but there, that sneaks up on you. Try this one ! Tweek to your tastes if needed, but is fantastic as is! Thank you for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisaluvstocook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
This sauce is a good base, but for me I needed more heat and sweet. About a 3/4 tablespoon of sriracha and about a tablespoon and a half of molasses made this peeeerfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rdsxlolo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eastchester, New York, USA
Living In: Altamonte Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
This is a good recipe. I defiantly suggest bringing it to a simmer, heating it up brought out the flavors more. I also added a tablespoon of molasses. I also added mor ketchup to thicken it up. But overall a very good BBQ sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
Very good. I followed the recipe, plus boiled it as recommended. Not only was it good, it was very quick and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
Good recipe, but WAY too much vinegar for our taste. I had only put in 1 cup of the brown sugar, and ended up adding the other 1/2 C plus honey, and it was still too tangy. Also added a tablespoon of butter to give it a silkier texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
It was super yummy!!! I don't think I will buy pre-made BBQ sauce again. The only things I changed was I used white wine vinegar and not quite so much of it and prepared mustard, and that was because of what I had on hand. I also added a dash of garlic powder. I agree with the others that you need to simmer the sauce on the stove and putting it in the blender is not necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 207) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States