A Very Popular BBQ Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2015
Had a recipe that I really loved but couldn't find it after the move, came across this one and it was practically spot on. I halved the recipe but will make more next time. I did not use the blender, but simmered it on the stove top since that is what I am use to doing. Did add extra hot sauce and a touch of onion powder. Was a big hit even for the kiddo who says he doesn't like BBQ sauce. In fact, the hubby even put it on his pasta. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
Great basic recipe, I added 1/4 tsp liquid smoke for a smoky flavor, a tbsp of Jack Daniels, and cut back on the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2015
This recipe was so easy, and so good! I did make a few alterations. First off, I did a cup of brown sugar, half a cup honey. I used apple cider vinegar, and instead of water I used beer. I didn't have worchesterchire sauce, so I used soy sauce. Scaled the dry mustard back to 2 tablespoons, and I blended 2 cloves of garlic and half an onion for flavor. I also simmered on low for an hour just to let the flavors really meld together. I really enjoyed the effect it had. I will use this in the future for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2015
Pretty good for a homemade sauce, with all ingredients you'd probably have at home. I only made 1/4 of the recipe to try with a sweet and spicy recipe I was going to make. Instead of the blender, I just combined all ingredients in a small saucepan, brought it to a boil and let it cook for 1 minute. My taste preference would be to cut back on the red wine vinegar, probably by half. Next time I'll also cut back on the sugar. I used smoky paprika and added a little more. Thanks for the easy and good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
Tasty BBQ sauce recipe as written--5 Stars from the cook in the house. That being said, I have an entire family of finicking eaters, so I needed to make a few adjustments to suit their pallet. I decreased, by half, the red wine vinegar; decreased the sugar by 1/4 cup; and increased the Worcestershire to 2 T; Oh, and I didn't mention to my family that I used mustard! What they don't know won't hurt them:) Thanks for the delicious recipe--I won't ever need to purchase store-bought BBQ sauce again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
So simple and so yummy. No need to run to the store, ingredients are in every kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
It was good the second best BBQ sauce I ever tasted
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
I had chicken thighs and wanted to make BBQ Chicken in the oven, and I had ran out of Store Bought BBQ Sauce, so looked for a quick to do BBQ Sauce and came across this one. Since it was the 1st time I followed the recipe, but halved the measurements as to make exactly what I needed. I usually would cook the sauce for about 30 mins, but since it was going to be oven roasted at 400F for 35 mins no need to cook the sauce. So, little canola oil to coat the chicken, some garlic salt to season the chicken, then mixed the chicken with all the sauce and poured into a baking dish and into the pre-heated oven; total prep time about 7-8 mins, plus 35 mins watching TV for the chicken thighs to cook. Chicken came out delicious!!! For the sauce, I didn't have powder mustard, so used regular yellow mustard, and had ran out of paprika, so used some chili powder. As for the hot sauce, I have about 7 different hot sauces in my pantry, I decided to use Siracha; about 1 TBS for the whole recipe, but adjust to your liking. Siracha BBQ Sauce was a hit!!! The great thing about this sauce is that you can use tweak the recipe to your taste; you can use less sugar, add more vinegar, add garlic (powder, fresh, roasted, etc.), add onions (powder, fresh, caramelized, red, vidalia, etc.), use more or less hot sauce, use different types of hot sauce, etc. I would recommend cooking the sauce some 30 mins., also, this is a sweet thick sauce, so it will benefit from using just a tad more water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
I put everything into a pan and brought to a boil as was suggested in other comments. The result was too ketchupy-sweet for me. I added about a 1/3 cup molasses, remembering it from the ingredients list of another bbq recipe, reboiled and simmered and yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
Didn't have red wine vinegar. But I did have Apple Cider vinegar. Also had very little Worcestershire so I added a little liquid smoke and a teaspoon of soy sauce, garlic powder and dash of chili powder. Turned out great. Just as is. No boiling. I poured it on top of a Chicken in the Slow Cooker with a can of Whole Cranberry Sauce and onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie Wagner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 216) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States