A Very Popular BBQ Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
I had chicken thighs and wanted to make BBQ Chicken in the oven, and I had ran out of Store Bought BBQ Sauce, so looked for a quick to do BBQ Sauce and came across this one. Since it was the 1st time I followed the recipe, but halved the measurements as to make exactly what I needed. I usually would cook the sauce for about 30 mins, but since it was going to be oven roasted at 400F for 35 mins no need to cook the sauce. So, little canola oil to coat the chicken, some garlic salt to season the chicken, then mixed the chicken with all the sauce and poured into a baking dish and into the pre-heated oven; total prep time about 7-8 mins, plus 35 mins watching TV for the chicken thighs to cook. Chicken came out delicious!!! For the sauce, I didn't have powder mustard, so used regular yellow mustard, and had ran out of paprika, so used some chili powder. As for the hot sauce, I have about 7 different hot sauces in my pantry, I decided to use Siracha; about 1 TBS for the whole recipe, but adjust to your liking. Siracha BBQ Sauce was a hit!!! The great thing about this sauce is that you can use tweak the recipe to your taste; you can use less sugar, add more vinegar, add garlic (powder, fresh, roasted, etc.), add onions (powder, fresh, caramelized, red, vidalia, etc.), use more or less hot sauce, use different types of hot sauce, etc. I would recommend cooking the sauce some 30 mins., also, this is a sweet thick sauce, so it will benefit from using just a tad more water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
I put everything into a pan and brought to a boil as was suggested in other comments. The result was too ketchupy-sweet for me. I added about a 1/3 cup molasses, remembering it from the ingredients list of another bbq recipe, reboiled and simmered and yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
Didn't have red wine vinegar. But I did have Apple Cider vinegar. Also had very little Worcestershire so I added a little liquid smoke and a teaspoon of soy sauce, garlic powder and dash of chili powder. Turned out great. Just as is. No boiling. I poured it on top of a Chicken in the Slow Cooker with a can of Whole Cranberry Sauce and onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie Wagner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
This is great BBQ Sauce- After blending the ingredients saute onions and garlic and then add the sauce and cook for 30 min- Its so smokey and awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Bogren

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
I will never buy BBQ sauce from the store again. We made it as directed the first time and it was a little too sweet (I prefer my BBQ tangy) but was still really good. The second batch I made a few tweaks (less sugar, more vinegar) and one or two other small things and it was completely gone! My husband LOVED this sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
Great go to! Had no BBQ sauce and made pulled pork! Was excellent! I will say, if you are serving this to kids do not use the hot sauce. I barely used a dash and it was way too spicy to them. Perfect for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
This is probably one of the BEST bbq sauces that I have ever tried! The only thing that this sauce needs is a little liquid smoke unless you use charcoal, but other than that it is just perfect. It is the only one I make for everything from chicken to pork and even beef. I haven't found anything that this stuff isn't great on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
Had spareribs today with very popular sauce today the best
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Irene Steiner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
I've made this a handful of times now. Great all purpose barbecue sauce. I usually simmer it for a spell. Makes great sauce for slow cooked ribs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Justin King

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
This was just way too sweet for me. Perhaps chili sauce instead of ketchup?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PEGT2865

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Midlothian, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 209) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States