A Vegetable Stew - Tabakh Rohoo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
Fabulous. The lamb was so tender. I was planning to have leftovers, but it was so good we ate the whole thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2006
The flavor was wonderful. I'm always trying to find ways to make things lower in fat so instead of using ghee, I cooked the lamb in chicken broth. I failed miserably at keeping the stew in layers. I couldn't get the broth from the bottom to wash the extra spices down in the stew so I just stirred it all up. I also had 2 eggplants but no zuchini so I used all eggplant. It could have been a little spicier but since I make everything way spicy, I figured it was a welcome break for my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vladadeska

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pottstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
This is one of the best dishes I've ever made. The mint really adds dimension. I followed the recipe exactly, except I skipped the chili pepper and didn't bother to transfer it to a serving dish. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2007
I sustituted canned Italian tomatoes for fresh,cut them up right in the can. This is a keeper! The lamb gets melt in your mouth tender. The aroma is fabulous! A bit tricky turning this out of the pot while retaining the layers (I failed). Different, easy, delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
This was very delicious! I wasn't sure how I would like the eggplant in it because I usually don't care for eggplant, but it was great. The only change I made was that I used a common Middle Eastern spice mix that I had in the cabinet instead of the individual spices. I made it on the stovetop as the recipe called for, but I'm pretty sure it would be just as great in the oven as well. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Amman, Amman, Jordan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
Absolute crowd pleaser! And I'm talking about a crowd that was brand new to any kind of Arabic food. I did make some modifications: I subbed unsalted butter for ghee (not readily available near me), after browning the lamb I put everything in a crockpot on low for 3-4 hours. I added cauliflower, raisins and cashews and doubled the spice mixture (as I hear others did). I added roughly 1 cup of chicken broth midway through cooking just because the slow cooking seemed to be drying the veggies out. It made the most delicious sauce! I served alongside lemon scented basmati rice (made with the peel of 2 lemons, 2 cups basmati, garlic and a handful of chopped cilantro) and it was divine. Thanks for posting this recipe, it's now one of the family faves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Joey Joan
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
I followed the recipe exactly except I used butter and used a slow cooker and cooked it for 3 hrs. The flavor was awesome the aroma heavenly, I thought the vegetables were good my husband felt they weren't cooked long enough.The lamb was tender and tasty. I browned the meat as directed in a skillet and then added it into the cooker.I de-glazed the skillet with the water and then mixed in the tomato paste,I poured it over the layers in the cooker covered tightly and let it cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joey Joan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarkston, Michigan, USA
Living In: Hainesport, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2005
This stew has wonderful flavours, and I will definitely make it again, mainly because it so tasty and also because of it's low fat content. I found it to be a bit watery, though, but I may have cooked it too long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2005
This was absolutely delicious!! I used a larger quantity of spices and it turned out really well. I shall definately be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Malaga, Andalucia, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
This was an awesome dish YUM ,I did however have to add more spices as it became watered down as the vegetables released there juices, Plus even better the next day when the flavors melded together . Would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Beef Stew with Roasted Winter Vegetables

This hearty stew is fresh and flavorful, and makes a great comfort-food meal.

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States