A Vegetable Stew - Tabakh Rohoo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2005
This was absolutely delicious!! I used a larger quantity of spices and it turned out really well. I shall definately be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Malaga, Andalucia, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2005
This stew has wonderful flavours, and I will definitely make it again, mainly because it so tasty and also because of it's low fat content. I found it to be a bit watery, though, but I may have cooked it too long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2006
This really didn't work for me. I'm at a loss as to how so many wonderful ingredients can end up tasting so, well, bad. It smelled fabulous while cooking, but tasted flat. I might have done something wrong (not sure how, but possible) since I'm not familiar with Damascene dishes - I found this recipe looking for a dish to use up zucchini and lamb. Anyway, I won't be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MACLEOD26

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mifflintown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2006
I give this recipe four stars because it is delicious, but i did add a few things: a dash of lemon juice, about 2 tbsp curry powder. I fried the lamb and eggplant on the stove, layered the whole thing in a casserole dish WITH one cup uncooked rice mixed with hot water, divided, and baked in oven at 425 for about an hour. TALK ABOUT YUM YUM YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2007
I sustituted canned Italian tomatoes for fresh,cut them up right in the can. This is a keeper! The lamb gets melt in your mouth tender. The aroma is fabulous! A bit tricky turning this out of the pot while retaining the layers (I failed). Different, easy, delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2006
The flavor was wonderful. I'm always trying to find ways to make things lower in fat so instead of using ghee, I cooked the lamb in chicken broth. I failed miserably at keeping the stew in layers. I couldn't get the broth from the bottom to wash the extra spices down in the stew so I just stirred it all up. I also had 2 eggplants but no zuchini so I used all eggplant. It could have been a little spicier but since I make everything way spicy, I figured it was a welcome break for my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vladadeska

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pottstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
This is one of the best dishes I've ever made. The mint really adds dimension. I followed the recipe exactly, except I skipped the chili pepper and didn't bother to transfer it to a serving dish. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
This was very delicious! I wasn't sure how I would like the eggplant in it because I usually don't care for eggplant, but it was great. The only change I made was that I used a common Middle Eastern spice mix that I had in the cabinet instead of the individual spices. I made it on the stovetop as the recipe called for, but I'm pretty sure it would be just as great in the oven as well. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Amman, Amman, Jordan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
Fabulous. The lamb was so tender. I was planning to have leftovers, but it was so good we ate the whole thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Joey Joan
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
I followed the recipe exactly except I used butter and used a slow cooker and cooked it for 3 hrs. The flavor was awesome the aroma heavenly, I thought the vegetables were good my husband felt they weren't cooked long enough.The lamb was tender and tasty. I browned the meat as directed in a skillet and then added it into the cooker.I de-glazed the skillet with the water and then mixed in the tomato paste,I poured it over the layers in the cooker covered tightly and let it cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joey Joan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarkston, Michigan, USA
Living In: Hainesport, New Jersey, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States