A Southern Fried Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
A-M-A-Z-I-N-G!!! These are now a regular request in our household!! I use boneless skinless breasts and marinade for (almost) 24 hours. They are a huge hit!! The chicken strips require no dipping sauce at all and are moist and juicy. Thank you soooo much for this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Garden City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
I followed the recipe as given to the letter. As soon as the hot oil (350 degrees) hits that batter the sugar from that BBQ sauce starts turning black, and then it turns to charcoal before the chicken is done. What a disaster. I had to peal the batter off it to get something the family could eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
What a mess! I was so excited about this recipe, I followed the recipe to a 't' but it burned, black burned, it was hard to flip with tongs because the breading would start coming off, the breading was burnt on the outside and the breading was not done on the inside. My husband said forget it and put the rest of chicken on the grill... Any advice on how to do this better next time, like I said, I was very excited about this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
so messy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
It was crunchy enough but I thought there would be more zip to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sidney, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
We Loved this chicken! Hubby couldn't tell there there was BBQ sauce and worster sauce in the batter! I didn't make any changes. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
tase was really good but the batter didnt coat evenly an dwas a bit on the chewy side next time I will probibly only use one coating per piece to minimize this problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal Midkiff

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
I have to say... This is AWESOME!!! I have always had trouble getting the batter to stick with my old recipe, but now... no problem. It isn't as messy as some are saying, in fact I had very little mess at all. I also used boneless, skinless chicken breasts (cause that is what I had on hand) that I cut into strips. My family absolutely loved it, it also reheats great. I will definitely be making this more often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
A bit too sweet for my husband and I. The kids liked it though. Maybe a different bbq sauce would help, but I won't be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
It was alright, could definitely taste the barbeque sauce and it was really difficult to coat because it needed a lot more flour mixture, otherwise it just turns into a dough like substance
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Southern Fried Chicken

Watch how to make this top-rated classic.

How to Make Buttermilk Fried Chicken

Chef John’s buttermilk fried chicken is impossibly crispy and tasty.

Better Than Best Fried Chicken

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this fried chicken the best.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States