A Southern Fried Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
The instructions for this recipe are pretty poor. Definitely do NOT try cooking this at 375 degrees - you'll get raw inside and burnt outside. The flavors are good but do NOT try to double dip. This recipe is very messy and was more of a pain than what it was worth. We've found much better results frying chicken with just a dry coating of flour and your favorite seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
Awesome!! This recipe is the closest I have ever come to how my grandmother use to make it. I soaked it for several hours in buttermilk & did not double dip it. It turned out PERFECT!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2008
Everybody loved this recipe!!! Even my picky boys. I did marinated the chicken in the buttermilk mixture overnite, it was very tender and juicy. Definitely try using peanut oil and keep the temp around 300F. I only made legs and breasts, but everything turned out great! THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
The breading was really good, but the directions were very poor. Cooking until golden brown on both sides does not get the inside of the chicken near the bones cooked at all and for someone who's new at cooking (like me) those instructions were very misleading. Even using boneless chicken, the inside still wasn't cooked thoroughly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ginger Clark

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawton, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Mesquite, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
I did not like this recipe at all. I found the batter too think and it was extremely difficult to cook in the frying pan. I am a "newer" cook so perhaps and this was my first attempt to make fried chicken so maybe someone with more experience would have better luck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
Has great flavor if you can keep the chicken from burning. I followed the rec to the "t" and the chicken burned as fast as I put it in the grease. So I tried baking it for 15 minutes at 400 then frying to try and keep a nice light color to the coating. Worked out much better and I didn't get that scorched flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
Outstanding recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 3daisys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livermore, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
This was a really good recipe. I did one thing different. I put chicken in flour - egg- flour egg then into a bowl of potato chips that i had crumbled up. It gave it an extra crispiness. The next time i make this though i will put more seasoning in the flour. It was kind of bland, but other than that, the batter was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
I liked the flavor when it was done. I think the liquid mixture could be cut in half because I had so much left over. Little messy, but hey it was tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
i loved the flavoring given to the chicken, i didnt have good luck frying but it was operator error. great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Beaufort, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Southern Fried Chicken

Watch how to make this top-rated classic.

How to Make Buttermilk Fried Chicken

Chef John’s buttermilk fried chicken is impossibly crispy and tasty.

Better Than Best Fried Chicken

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this fried chicken the best.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States