A Southern Fried Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
I followed this recipe exactly, and it did not turn out. The chicken ended up a soggy mess. Definitely did not have the crunchy exterior that I expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
One thing that always annoyed me about fried food was no matter what seasonings I put in, frying seemed to kill them. Not the case with this batter! Now I know the secret is to put the seasonings in the liquid, then dredge in seasoned flour, as well. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
I made this last week for my husband wo LOVES my mom's fried chicken. He ate it, but did not say he loved it like he does my mom's. I HATED IT! I switched hot sauce for the bbq sauce like the suggestion of another reviewer. That didn't help it taste better. There was so much "batter" you could hardly taste anything of the spices. It was also VERY MESSY! I will not make this again and will just stick with my mom's recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by obgynrn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
This is the first time I have made southern fried chicken. I didnt have enough buttermilk (only 280ml) but found it didnt matter. The result was fabulous, compliments all round. My boufriend and I like things really hot and spicy so next time I make this dish I will probably do what glittergirl94 did and double the spices
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by enny
Home Town: Leeds, Yorkshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2009
I made my own butter milk (1T lemon juice/1C milk) and marinated the chicken in the milk mixture and doubled the spices in the flour, but other than that followed the directions exactly. Good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by glittergirl94

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Franklin, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2009
I added extra seasonings. It was kinda bland. I added garlic salt, onion powder and lots of black pepper. This is a good base recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHAY10

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fostoria, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2009
The base recipe is a good start, next time I will add additional seasoning to bring out the flavor more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Canada, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lindstrom, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2009
For me it was too greasy, maybe I didn't fry it hot enough
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cindylea13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 26, 2009
Just made this yesterday. Couple of suggestions: I tried the "double breading" this recipe suggests--dip in sauce, in flour, back in sauce, back in flour, and found my chicken was WAY over breaded. Last half of my chicken pieces, I only "single breaded". This breading/sauce combination was FABULOUS, however!! LOVED the spike from the BBQ with the buttermilk. Also, I got a pre-cut chicken from Wal-Mart and the breast/ribs sections were really big. When I make it again, I will cut the chicken myself, as the large pieces were unable to cook through before the breading started to burn. Ended up pulling the breasts out and finishing them in the oven (still tasted pretty darn good, though!). Cut the rest of the meat into smaller pieces before frying. Even with all the problems getting the meat to cook, it got GREAT reviews from my company!! And it reheats in the oven the next day very nicely. Overall, GREAT fried chicken recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2009
I have a question. I'm eager to make this recipe but don't have buttermilk on hand. Would it be the same if i make buttermilk with milk and lemon juice? I've done that for bran muffins and they turn out great! Please help, i've already cut up the chicken!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nan

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Beaverton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Southern Fried Chicken

Watch how to make this top-rated classic.

How to Make Buttermilk Fried Chicken

Chef John’s buttermilk fried chicken is impossibly crispy and tasty.

Better Than Best Fried Chicken

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this fried chicken the best.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States