A Slow Cooker Thanksgiving Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
Very good. The whole family took seconds so that's always a good sign.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cwillow
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
So, first thing - this recipe is as dry as the Sahara. Second, DO NOT PUT BREAD ON THE BOTTOM. This will burn, and as one poor soul had to do - might cause you to need a new slow cooker. Ouch! Fairly good recipe when modified, however. Looks weird, tastes amazing. I used two boxes of Stove Top, four jars of turkey gravy, and chicken. If you decide to do this recipe as written, great - just make sure to stir the bread crumbs up into the gravy mixture so they do not burn. I am planning on uploading pictures the next time I make it. Have fun, all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
This was good, reminds me of my moms turkey stuffing when I was younger. The only thing was, I put an extra cup of broth in before leaving to prevent everything from burning but it backfired because I used frozen chicken and everything was very soupy. We still ate it and i just polished off the left overs. Also, I won't use cranberries next time, it was too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jstclair05

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
this recipe created one big clean up job my slow cooker was nearly ruined i was almost ready to throw it away and go out and buy another one bread cubes stayed dried and what moisture made it down there is where the burning took placejust not a very well thought out recipe my family did not like it at all and my family really enjoys thanksgiving dinner
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
I tried this with a few tweeks myself. I'm not big on mushrooms or onion. So I left them out. Instead I used Onion powder and added some garlic salt along with the poultry seasonning. The next time I will add quartered red potatoes and corn on the bottom instead of bread crumbs to make it a more rounded meal. I even liked the cranberry sauce mixed in it! THIS WILL Become a winter staple in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
I tweaked this a little. Instead of mushrooms, I added french cut green beans. Based on other reviews, I moistened the stuffing, I used Cranberry Stovetop, poured some of the gravy & cream of mushroom soup over it. I put it in a cast iron casserole dish and baked it, covered, in the oven at 350 for 2 hours. Made sweet potato chips on the side. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
I left out the cranberry sauce and added 2 pkts of long grain and wild rice with the seasoning, turkey thigh meat cubed, bulk sausage, and green pepper. I cooked in also on high for 5 hours. Perfect! The stuffing at the bottom was dry but we threw that part out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
Delicious! My husband loved it, said it smelled like the best parts of Thanksgiving dinner rolled into one while it was cooking. Made this after reading all reviews - chose it because folks described it as moist and as one reviewer said, "mushy." I added more of the veggies by 1/2 cup each and left out the cranberry sauce. I had to use my 5 qt. pot. The last hour of cooking I needed to add about 1/2 can of chicken broth and stir as the mix was too dry; the bottom bread was dry.(could be my altitude?) Turned out perfectly! This will be a favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
Mushy and the flavors were mixed together, no one in my family liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
This was pretty good! I used 4 cups bread cubes since that was all I had, bumped the stuffing amount to 3/4 cups, and it turned out fine. Everything was moist and tasty. I omitted the mushrooms (husband hates 'em!), and next time I may try a layer of squash or zucchini between the chicken & topping just to get some extra veggies in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbeque

See how to make zesty barbequed chicken in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Shredded slow-simmered chicken in a tangy homemade BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States