A Simply Perfect Roast Turkey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
I "road tested" this recipe with the largest roast chicken I could find. Sure, it came out very juicy and had a beautiful color, but in the end I was disappointed. My husband said it tasted rubbery, and to me it was too salty. I think tenting it "steamed it" (as referenced by another reviewer). Maybe it would work better with turkey, as it is not as tender as chicken, but even so, it needed something, like different herbs on the skin; for me, the flavor was just not there. I did put butter under the skin and put celery, onions and carrots in the roasting pan and in the bird, and it was still lacking. The best thing I could say was that it made a good gravy. I am going to use tonight's leftovers to make chicken soup and use my regular turkey recipe this Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Audubon, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
I have tried to cook turkeys different ways, different brands, fresh, frozen, organic and wild. I needed some valuable space in my freezer, so out came a free 15# I got last Thanksgiving. Followed the recipe as shown, I got a beautiful centerpiece bird for my 12 guests, that was moist and cooked to perfection. Sad thing, not many leftovers. You cant miss with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
This is my usual turkey method. To avoid losing heat during basting, I find it helpful to kick up the heat to 450 while the oven is open and then turn it back down about minute after you close the door again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
Turned out perfect, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
My dark meat did not cook with this method. The white meat was dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
I used this recipe for the first time Thanksgiving 2012 - I won't do it any other way from now on!! One note, I did brine the bird 24 hours before roasting - AMAZING combination!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Wasmund

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
Very easy and tasty. Don't see a reason to do anything different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LisaMC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
I amde this for thangsiving and used old bay seasoning instead of salt and pepper and we had no leftovers its was the best turkey i have ever made im repeating for christmas
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Barksdale Afb, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
I've tried many different roast turkey recipes over the years, but this is the basic and tried and true. I used a 12 lb turkey and cooked it just under 3.5 hours. Used a large enamel roasting pan and rack and used the roasting lid instead of foil. Basted every 45 min. and uncovered for the last hour. I let it rest 30 min semi covered and it was perfect. I added carrots, celery and onion to the bottom of the pan before roasting and the juices made a beautiful gravy while the bird rested. Thanks for posting this easy and true roast turkey recipe. I have found after all of the variations I have tried, this is simply the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
Delish!! Thank you so much for making my first Turkey EASY and well liked!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 300) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

A Simply Perfect Roast Turkey

Take the guesswork out of preparing the perfect roast turkey.

How to Roast a Turkey

See a simple beginner-friendly method for roasting a moist, beautiful turkey.

How to Prep and Roast Turkey

Watch a very simple method for prepping and roasting turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States