A Simply Perfect Roast Turkey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
I have roasted small birds both chickens and turkeys but until this past Thanksgiving I haven't roasted a big one. I had major anxiety about drying out the bird(think Christmas Vacation.) I used this recipe as a guide. I made a few changes like adding a cup of red wine to the bottom of the pan with a few cloves of crushed garlic. I also stuffed the bird with celery and onion instead of stuffing. I was really stressing out because I cook my birds on a lower heat setting but had to increase my temp to 350. I kept checking it throught the process and cooked my 20 # turkey for 5 hours. Tented for 4 of the 5 hours and basted every 30 minutes adding broth to the pan as needed. Let the turkey rest for about 30 minutes. The bird was brown and juicy- delish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA
Photo by destinym
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
My turkey came out amazing! Very juicy and golden brown. I rubbed some butter under the skin, but other than that followed the recipe to a T. My 19 lb turkey (only stuffed with an onion and garlic) took 3 hours and 45 minutes. This will be my go to turkey recipe from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
Marvelous and simple guide to a great roast turkey. I used a free-range bird, 13 pounds, and it turned out juicy and very flavorful. The best ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
Just like the name said...mine turned out simply perfect! This was a huge hit at my house over Thanksgiving!!!! I will definitely be making this again. I would give it 100 stars if I could. It was most definitely HOLY DELICIOUS!!!!! Thank you so much for sharing xoxoxoxoxo
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovinghappyhome

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cranston, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
I usually just put the turkey in a roasting bag, but I was looking for something better this year. I used this recipe and my mother-in-law said that this was the best Thanksgiving meal that she has ever had. I have a new cooking tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
Simply wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by devo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
I have the secret. You cannot ruin a bird...you can't overcook it. If you do slightly overcook it, the dark meat will be finally done completely...if you know what I mean..ever turkey you have ever seen has it. You will not see the streaks of uncooked dark meat. The secret, a five gallon bucket and a 20 pound bird...(size does not matter). Brining is it. I will NEVER do a bird without it. This recipe is perfect...but brining makes it completely fool proof. 3/4 cup sugar, salt, tablespoon of pepper, cup of boiling water per gallon of water for brine. You melt the sugar and salt in the boiling water, put it in the water to make the brine. I use about half a gallon of ice to keep the water good and cold..then put the bucket in the fridge. The first time my wife saw that, she freaked. Now she just parts the red sea (full refrigerator) and removes a shelf or two. Brine is the secret...no way to mess a turkey again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
very good recipe for traditional turkey
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
I made this last night for an early Thanksgiving meal and it was amazing! My BF doesn't really like turkey because he says it is always dry... He loved this and was shocked at how juicy and flavorful it was! I made a spice rub instead of just salt and pepper and it added so much to it without taking away from the turkey flavor, I omitted the stuffing and put an onion, some celery, and baby carrots,and butter in the cavity instead. Also seasoned inside and out and under the skin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
This came out incredibly delicious and moist. I used a little more butter thoughout basting but otherwise it was awesome. Usually ham is the hit for us but this turkey made everyone rave!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 286) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

A Simply Perfect Roast Turkey

Take the guesswork out of preparing the perfect roast turkey.

How to Roast a Turkey

See a simple beginner-friendly method for roasting a moist, beautiful turkey.

How to Prep and Roast Turkey

Watch a very simple method for prepping and roasting turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States