A Simply Perfect Roast Turkey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 20)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
I was getting ready to print this recipe for the third year in a row and realized I hadn't reviewed it yet. I've been making turkeys for 30 years now, and this is my favorite go-to recipe. It's easy, doesn't require a lot of fuss, and the turkey comes out fantastic. Perfect for Thanksgiving. I also love keeping a turkey in my freezer, then when we have a big snowfall coming, defrost the night before and make a big ol' turkey dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti Weiss
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
This was very good. However since I eat very little of the bottom of the bird, I cooked it for the first couple of hours breast side down. This allows all of my stuffing spices to seep into the breast. I then turn it and continue cooking. Try it. I think you will love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
I found this recipe a couple of years ago and I have been using it ever since. My family and I thank you for a awesome turkay day recipe.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CELESTEALEXIS27

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wallington, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by yukonchicka
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
Awesome, thanks for the help. Cooked my first thanksgiving dinner this year and it turned out great. The only thing i had to change was that i took the foil off after 2 and a half hours as instructed, but it browned so fast that half an hour later i had to put the foil back on. Nonetheless, the broth made making gravy a cinch. Oh i also put a few strips of bacon on the top of the bird..something I can always remember my mom doing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yukonchicka

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada
Living In: Peterborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rigo1272
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
I used this recipe last year. This was my first turkey that I made and everyone loved it. The skin was crisp and meat was juicy....I will be using this again this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
great basic instructions on how to cook a turkey! The bird comes out juicy and delicious every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweet Southern Charm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Irmo, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Photo by jennyblue
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
this gets 5 stars because of how easy this is, especially for the first time turkey roaster, like me. my friends and i decided to have an impromptu thanksgiving meal on the hottest day so far this year, and i had to cook the turkey. the bird was so moist and perfectly browned when it was done. i stuffed it with my mom's sausage stuffing and sewed it shut. rubbed it with lots of butter and put butter under the skin between the breast like some other reviewers did. basted every half hour and it took 5 1/2 hour for a 19lb bird. the only thing i did a little differently was to cover the drumsticks for the first hour so they didn't overcook ( my mom said to do that, lol) oh, and i only cooked to 165 degrees and let it carryover for a half an hour. it was perfect. not too dry and cooked all the way through, even the stuffing.this really is a fool-proof method to cook a turkey. use this if you've never cooked a turkey, or if you've never cooked a good turkey. i promise it will come through for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennyblue

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamilton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Bordentown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2008
I have used this reciped for the past two years and it never disappoints me. I love this recipe so much that i am going to use it out of season and for dinner for the next couple of days. My whole family cant believe i can make this great turkey every thanksgiving!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by miss parker

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
I made my first turkey this past thanksgiving and I followed this recipe. IT TURNED OUT PERFECT!!! I used chicken stock because I could not find turkey stock but I dont think it mattered. Everybody was so impressed with my beautiful moist tasty turkey. I did not stuff mine and it still took the time stated to cook. I used a v shaped rack. Thank you so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheena708

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Odessa, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
This turned out simply gorgeous, and soooo juicy. The best turkey my husband and I have ever eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 191-200 (of 286) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

A Simply Perfect Roast Turkey

Take the guesswork out of preparing the perfect roast turkey.

How to Roast a Turkey

See a simple beginner-friendly method for roasting a moist, beautiful turkey.

How to Prep and Roast Turkey

Watch a very simple method for prepping and roasting turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States