A Simply Perfect Roast Turkey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
Oh yeah! This is a simply perfect turkey.I skipped the stuffing. I don't stuff my turkey, ever. I had a 12 lb. turkey so mine was done in 2 hrs. at 350* I cut slits in the turkey skin and stuffed it with the bits of butter instead of rubbing it on. I sprinkled it with poultry seasoning too, but forgot the salt and pepper. I used 1 1/2 cans of chicken broth and only basted it once. I did cook this in a roaster with the lid on. It still got a beautiful golden even with the lid on! Thanks, I got lots of Mmmmmms. My husband even said I outdid myself this year and it was the best turkey yet. Easy Excellent recipe!!!! UPDATE: 2010: I made this for hubby's work event using a 22 lb. bird and fixed it a day ahead then refrigerated it, hubby took it whole, carved it up there and they reheated it. He got raves from everyone over this being the best turkey they ever ate! And that was a group of 24 people. HE said even those who said they don't like turkey ate seconds. Thanks for the awesome easy recipe!!! I love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
I have roasted many turkeys, but this was the best turkey ever! I did make a few changes; I did the first 1/2 hour at 425 and then lowered the temp to 325. I used a mixture of melted butter and olive oil. I used Penzey's poultry seasoning instead of the salt and pepper. I used chicken broth and found I did need to add some every 1/2 hour. Fantastic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
This turkey tasted fantastic. Now, after years of struggling to figure out the best and easiest way to make a good amount of rich turkey gravy, I have the answer. I didnt have any turkey stock but had plenty of chicken broth. I used this at the bottom of the pan along with the neck, giblets, whole carrots, celery stalks, 2 small onions and a couple of sprigs of fresh rosemary and made some of the best gravy ever. I made sure to use a fat seperater cup though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sylvainia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
This is the first year I cooked Thanksgiving dinner at my house and first year I made a Turkey. I used this recipe and everyone loved it. The turkey was very juicy and tender. It also looked just like his picture, beautiful golden brown. It was very easy to make and a huge success at our house today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sexywifey
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
beautiful bird. came out nice and juicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sexywifey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
This is a wonderful recipe, I made my first ever turkey and it is awesome, Amazing taste very juicy. Thank you so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jamestown, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
I have been making my turkeys for years using this method and it is flawless as long as you baste, baste, baste, and baste often. I prefer the toss away disposable roasting pans and ZI've never had any trouble. I make my own stock to start the ball rolling by cooking the gizzards, neck, etc. in a pot of water and using this water. Pet cats in the house will love you for cooking these otherwise disposable items (not the neck of course). This year I will be trying what other readers have advised and start cooking the turkey breast side down and turning it over for the last hour or so depending on the size. I will also be adding cut up onions to the bottom of the pan. I have found that a good rule of thumb is to gauge the cooking time to at least 20 minutes per pound and adding a little extra time to compensate for the repeated basting. I also have never prepared the turkey by rubbing it down under the skin before cooking and I am excited about doing that this year. I absolutely love this site and so does my family-LOL. I cover the wing tips for the entire cooking time and cover the entire bird with foil until the last hour or so. I wish everyone a happy Thanksgiving and my thanks to all that participate on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Homewood, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
Simply Amazing! This was my 1st Turkey bird and everyone did not believe that it was my first, it turned out that amazing. I made it this weekend because we are celebrating thanksgiving both where i live in Boca Raton and where my husbands parents live in Orlando. Everyone loved it! it really is a simply perfect Turkey. I will be making it like this for many years to come. Thanks,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gianna Petrosyan
Living In: Boca Raton, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
this was the recipe i used last thanksgiving, the turkey was beautiful!!!! and it tasted great. Plan on doing it again this year! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
I have always made my turkey this way but I put it in a turkey baking bag. The bird browns and is super moist, no basting at all. I also put fruit in the bird not stuffing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 300) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

A Simply Perfect Roast Turkey

Take the guesswork out of preparing the perfect roast turkey.

How to Roast a Turkey

See a simple beginner-friendly method for roasting a moist, beautiful turkey.

How to Prep and Roast Turkey

Watch a very simple method for prepping and roasting turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States