A Simply Perfect Roast Turkey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
This turkey was simple and delicous. I didn't have turkey stock so I used 2 cups of chicken stock and basted every hour (4 1/2hrs) If I ran out of chicken stock in the roasting pan I just kept adding 2 cups of chicken stock to the roast. As well I placed the turkey on a rack and created a tent of tin foil around the turkey. Between a consistent amount of stock in the bottom of the roasting pan and the enclosure around the turkey the meat was very moist and I had a great base for gravy left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
Turned out perfectly. I had about 20 guests over Christmas day who agree. Definitely my new go-to recipe for turkey roasting. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
I have been cooking turkey for many years and I must say that this recipe is the best by far. I used it for Christmas Day and everyone said it was the best turkey they ever had. Thanks Nellie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TONIQ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hampton Bays, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
This turkey was very moist even though I didn't get to baste it every 30 minutes. It was my first time buying a fresh turkey rather than a frozen one and I have heard that fresh are much better, this one lived up to that rumor. My 17 lb turkey took a bit more than 5 hours to reach 180 degrees so dinner was delayed a bit. But the wait was worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shawna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
I had such fears roasting such a big bird, especially for the first time, but this recipe totally helped me out. The turkey turned out succulent, juicy and simply delicious. Like many others, I did not put stuffing in the bird, but i made it separately. One mistake I did was to either use too many lemons or should have not left the lemon wholes in the turkey/tray. It made my gravy a lil bitter. Otherwise, it turned out exceptional. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bedok Reservoir, East Region, Singapore
Living In: Annandale, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
I love this recipe!!! I've never cooked much before (my fiancee cooks for me :) and I really wanted to surprise him with a full meal when he got home from work. We were both blown away with how good this turkey recipe is! Our turkey didn't even last a week. I can't wait to use it again for Christmas!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
This was the first turkey I ever made -- and it turned out wonderfully! It was very tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
This year was my first time making a turkey for thanksgiving and I have to say it turned out perfectly! I did cook the turkey on its breast 2/3 of the time thanks to other comments I had read and it was amazing. No one believed I had never made a turkey before! Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zoeyraven

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
smoked the Turkey for 3 hrs. before placing in the oven bag. Placed the bird in the oven with a temp. of 325 for 4 hrs. . The Family was happy with the bird. I think Fried is still the way to go. For a change up I've got to say very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kidd994

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: The Colony, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
Simply the best turkey ever, even if you aren't a total turkey lover. Moist, flavorful and a beautiful browned skin. The drippings make awesome gravey as well, so it's a double winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 286) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

A Simply Perfect Roast Turkey

Take the guesswork out of preparing the perfect roast turkey.

How to Roast a Turkey

See a simple beginner-friendly method for roasting a moist, beautiful turkey.

How to Prep and Roast Turkey

Watch a very simple method for prepping and roasting turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States