A Simply Perfect Roast Turkey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
This is the base recipe I use every year. I alway end up with a beautiful and juicy bird. I add onions on the bottom of the roasting pan and rub season salt all over it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
good turkey .....Dont over cook
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cardiff By The Sea, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
I roasted my firrst ever turkey using this recipe and it worked a treat. A perfect, moist bird that was a hit with the whole family. I have to admit, I forgot to baste in the first hour and a half of cooking, but as there was plenty of stock in the roasting pan, it didn't seem to matter. Just lovely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
Was my first roasted turkey, usually I make them in one of them oven bags. Meat was very moist, even hubby noticed :) Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
I made my first turkey for Thanksgiving. I used this as a base for the cooking aspect as I was unsure of how to cook it. The only things done differently was I used a Cajun seasoning blend made by my local meat market (it is native to the South). I also injected almost a whole bottle of Creole Butter marinade. For basting I used Swanson Chicken Stock (not broth). Poor turkey, he didn't stand a chance once he was out of the oven. The thing was seriously demolished.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ashley
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
This was my first turkey I made and it was so easy! The meat is so juicy, i was so surprised. I basted every hour for the first 2.5 hours and then for the second half i basted every 30 minutes. Also I put butter, salt and pepper between the skin and the breast meat. I also made gravy out of the drippings and it was also delicious (but a bit salty). I am glad this was so successful since it was my first turkey that I made myself, and I am only 17 years old. woohoo! If this is your first time roasting a turkey I strongly suggest you use this recipe, its pretty hard to go wrong with this. Happy roasting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashley

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
This was my first turkey and it came out beautiful golden and very moist! It was a winner at our table this year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
I was strictly looking for time & temp instrux, & as usual, slow&low is the way 2 go! Mine took slightly longer than 4 hrs & I jacked up to 400 toward the end for crispy skin, but still VERY juicy. I used Tony Chachere's cajun seasoning in lieu of S&P. Also, I prefer my dressing baked outside of the bird & stuffed the cavity with an onion, celery stalk & carrot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Turnin40EatinBetter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: North Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
This was my first turkey I've ever made by myself, and it turned out amazing. The color was so beautiful. Thank you Syd for making me a star cook this Thanksgiving. (I did follow other suggestions such as adding butter and apple slices under the skin and quartered onions, celery and apples inside the cavity.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
Just like the name says. Simply Perfect. I used to brine or dry cure my turkey, which was a chore because I have to make a large turkey. But this turns out perfectly every time. I put the neck and gibblets in the roasting pan and there are plenty of juices to make the perfect turkey gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Knightcraft

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 300) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

A Simply Perfect Roast Turkey

Take the guesswork out of preparing the perfect roast turkey.

How to Roast a Turkey

See a simple beginner-friendly method for roasting a moist, beautiful turkey.

How to Prep and Roast Turkey

Watch a very simple method for prepping and roasting turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States