A Simply Perfect Roast Turkey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2002
I used this recipe for our Thanksgiving turkey and my family loved it! I put 1/4 cup of butter between the breast meat and the skin, then after each basting I brushed the entire turkey with melted butter. Not the greatest method for calorie counting, but I've never had a turkey so moist. It was incredible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
504 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lodi, California, USA
Living In: Napa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2003
This was my first Turkey. It turned out great even for the first time turkey cooker. Don't be afraid to try this one, it was very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2003
AWESOME recipe!!! Very moist turkey. Flavored it up a bit with a seasoned olive oil rather than all the butter suggested. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2003
I followed this recipie, but used sage and pepper on top of the turkey instead of salt and pepper. The biggest problem I had was the cooking time. I had a 9lbs turkey (if that) and after four - five hours at the temperature suggested it still was not cooked (just the thighs) and not really sure why....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2003
I searched many sites for a good easy basic turkey recipe and this was the best one. My Turkey turned out moist and delicious. I stuffed the turkey with the bread and celery stuffing recipe on this same site and I had a huge hit. Thanks Allrecipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2004
This turkey was moist and succulent. I added some fresh sage, rosemary and garlic. I will definately pump up the seasoning next time! A-#1 recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2Busy2Cook

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2004
This recipe was SOOOOOO Deeeelicious!!! Got rave reviews. Very Moist and the pan drippings made the worlds best gravy too! First time ever that the gravy boat was EMPTY at the end of the meal! Highly recommend this recipe! I served it with "Elegant Turkey Stuffing"- also from this site! WINNER!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NATTYRO

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2004
Made this last night. Make sure that you put a bit of butter between the skin and the meat...like another reviewer suggested, and don't forget to baste the turkey. It turned out wonderful and so moist. This is definatly a great basic and easy turkey recipe. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2004
The turkey came out perfect! This was my very first roast and I was patting my self on the back all night! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Loxahatchee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2004
Forget about the aluminum foil tent, unless you like steamed turkey. Instead, soak a clean porous cloth in melted butter and cover the turkey in it. Baste over and under the cloth every 10 minutes. Otherwise this is a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 286) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

A Simply Perfect Roast Turkey

Take the guesswork out of preparing the perfect roast turkey.

How to Roast a Turkey

See a simple beginner-friendly method for roasting a moist, beautiful turkey.

How to Prep and Roast Turkey

Watch a very simple method for prepping and roasting turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States