A Simply Perfect Roast Turkey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
I think this is an excellent recipe as it gives you good thorough directions on how to cook a basic turkey...and quite a good moist one too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miguel Monroy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saltillo, Coahuila, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
I used this recipe for my first time making turkey and was amazed at how juicy it came out for such a simple recipe! This is definitely the recipe that I will use now for all my holiday dinners because it is so fail-proof :-) The only things I changed was I omitted the stuffing and used chicken broth instead of turkey broth and it still came out perfect. I'll probably stuff it with onion, garlic and some herbs this year for added flavor and will use seasoning salt and garlic powder to season the outside because I like those flavors :-) That's what's so amazing about this recipe: you can add your own flair to at as long as you have the broth part down ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
Great recipe / technique. This was a moist turkey and I didn't mind eating the leftovers. I put 1/4 of the butter in between the skin and the meat. Used chicken stock since I didn't have turkey stock. Delicious! I wonder how to get the bottom of the turkey to brown though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
Pretty straight forward. My only suggestion is to roast thighs up, and I promise yout turcky will be supremely moist. * must use meat thermometer. * must allow to stand for 15 minutes to rest the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DianeTampa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
I cooked my first turkey ever using this recipe. I used a BIG turkey bag and it was so wonderful. Thanks for making my first experience a great tasting one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
Very moist. The drippings made a perfect gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
This last year we had Thanksgiving at our house for the first time. It was our first time cooking a turkey and this recipe made us look like pro's! I followed the advice of others (rub butter under the skin and wrap the wings with foil) and the recipes instructions to a T. It was perfect! Everyone asked what recipe we used! Thank you so much for this recipe Syd!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tuesday

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Leelanau, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
I had fun basting, but my 20 lb turkey took much too long to cook through. Although my turkey spent a week in the fridge defrosting, I suspect it may not have been fully thawed. So instead of having a perfectly golden browned, juicy turkey at 4 to 5 hours of cooking, I had a dry dark brown turkey at 7 hours of cooking. It still tasted good, and the drippings made delicious gravy, but I didn't have the juicy bird I was hoping for. However, I can't find fault with the recipe for my dry bird. Next time I'll try a smaller bird that's completely, undoubtedly thawed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Breannazar

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
Who would have thought that these tips of stock in the pan and an aluminum tent would make such a difference...but it does! I will be using this method again, and again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ktwofish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 286) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

A Simply Perfect Roast Turkey

Take the guesswork out of preparing the perfect roast turkey.

How to Roast a Turkey

See a simple beginner-friendly method for roasting a moist, beautiful turkey.

How to Prep and Roast Turkey

Watch a very simple method for prepping and roasting turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States