A Simply Perfect Roast Turkey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
Perfect. Added veggies on bottom of pan and some herbs to the mix...so yummy for thanksgiving 2011!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
This was only my second attempt to roast a turkey and I was soooo happy with the results!! The turkey was so unbelievably moist. I don't think I've ever had such a tender and moist bird! My dad always smoked ours outside or my mom has done it in the oven but really I think my bird tasted better than theirs. I had a 14 pounder and it took about 3 hrs 15 mins. I did tent my turkey and put the stock in the pan. I have to admit that I wasn't sure what "tenting" meant so I looked it up and watched a video! I didn't realize that the turkey isn't completely covered; hence the tent. The foil is sealed on both sides but not the ends of the pan. I refilled it a couple of times when it seemed to be evaporating but I never basted it. It was too hard to try and scoop the stock out from the pan since I had my turkey on a rack so I kinda gave up and hoped for the best. I didn't have a thermometer nor did I have a turkey where the little thingy pops out so I was really nervous about it being under and overcooked. My husband said he loved it and he's not a huge turkey fan. I feel so confident now and u will, too, after roasting your turkey this way. Thank u for sharing your recipe, Syd!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
Simply PERFECT says it all ! Exceptional recipe! My turkey came out awesome with this recipe, thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Shum

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corbett, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
This was by far the easiest way to cook a turkey. It turned out PERFECT!! It was moist and so delicious. I will never cook a turkey any other way. Thankyou so much Syd...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
This turkey was DELICIOUS! It was tender and juicy and tasted wonderful. Instead of covering the turkey in foil I covered it in cheesecloth, as is tradition in our family. Even though you have to stay home all day to baste the turkey, it's worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tealz

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
This was my first time cooking a turkey and it turned out fabulous! I didn't use stuffing inside, instead I used garlic, onion, carrots, and celery. It was great! I basted about every 45 minutes and it was very juicy! I also put rosemary and thyme in the pan. I still found the white meat dry, but I've never had white meat turkey that wasn't dry, just the way it is I think! My boyfriend said it was the juiciest turkey he had ever seen! He couldn't get enough of the dark meat! I'm using bones to make turkey stock today! Thanks for making my first Thanksgiving turkey excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Living In: Alstead, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
I've never rated a recipe here before, but this recipe exceeded all my expectations. I've never made a turkey that looked this beautiful and tasted even better it was moist and delicious. I've added this to my favorites and will be my go-to turkey recipe for many Thanksgivings to come. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Excellent. I have used this recipe for two Thanksgivings and each time the turkey was perfect--moist and golden. I received compliments each time. (And I had never roasted turkey before using this recipe.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
This was my first Thanksgiving meal that I had ever cooked. I'm only 20 and decided to feed 14 of my friends. I didn't skimp on anything! I had a 20 lb bird and stuffed that sucker with some stuffing. It came out AMAZING. I was so worried that I would somehow mess something up. I had never cooked a whole bird, so I was REALLY worried about the color of the outside. I perservered and the end result was outstanding! I was so proud of myself, and so were my parents. The only thing I changed was I boiled my giblets the night before along with the neck and the celery and onion for my stuffing. I used that broth to baste my bird. It is a total no hassle way to cook a turkey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
we used this recipe last Thanksgiving (2010) It was the best and easiest recipe ever! NO bag needed..moist and delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 286) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

A Simply Perfect Roast Turkey

Take the guesswork out of preparing the perfect roast turkey.

How to Roast a Turkey

See a simple beginner-friendly method for roasting a moist, beautiful turkey.

How to Prep and Roast Turkey

Watch a very simple method for prepping and roasting turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States