A Simply Perfect Roast Turkey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
This was my first time cooking a turkey and it turned out fabulous! I didn't use stuffing inside, instead I used garlic, onion, carrots, and celery. It was great! I basted about every 45 minutes and it was very juicy! I also put rosemary and thyme in the pan. I still found the white meat dry, but I've never had white meat turkey that wasn't dry, just the way it is I think! My boyfriend said it was the juiciest turkey he had ever seen! He couldn't get enough of the dark meat! I'm using bones to make turkey stock today! Thanks for making my first Thanksgiving turkey excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Living In: Alstead, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
I've never rated a recipe here before, but this recipe exceeded all my expectations. I've never made a turkey that looked this beautiful and tasted even better it was moist and delicious. I've added this to my favorites and will be my go-to turkey recipe for many Thanksgivings to come. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Excellent. I have used this recipe for two Thanksgivings and each time the turkey was perfect--moist and golden. I received compliments each time. (And I had never roasted turkey before using this recipe.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
This was my first Thanksgiving meal that I had ever cooked. I'm only 20 and decided to feed 14 of my friends. I didn't skimp on anything! I had a 20 lb bird and stuffed that sucker with some stuffing. It came out AMAZING. I was so worried that I would somehow mess something up. I had never cooked a whole bird, so I was REALLY worried about the color of the outside. I perservered and the end result was outstanding! I was so proud of myself, and so were my parents. The only thing I changed was I boiled my giblets the night before along with the neck and the celery and onion for my stuffing. I used that broth to baste my bird. It is a total no hassle way to cook a turkey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
we used this recipe last Thanksgiving (2010) It was the best and easiest recipe ever! NO bag needed..moist and delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
I think this is an excellent recipe as it gives you good thorough directions on how to cook a basic turkey...and quite a good moist one too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miguel Monroy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saltillo, Coahuila, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
I used this recipe for my first time making turkey and was amazed at how juicy it came out for such a simple recipe! This is definitely the recipe that I will use now for all my holiday dinners because it is so fail-proof :-) The only things I changed was I omitted the stuffing and used chicken broth instead of turkey broth and it still came out perfect. I'll probably stuff it with onion, garlic and some herbs this year for added flavor and will use seasoning salt and garlic powder to season the outside because I like those flavors :-) That's what's so amazing about this recipe: you can add your own flair to at as long as you have the broth part down ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
Great recipe / technique. This was a moist turkey and I didn't mind eating the leftovers. I put 1/4 of the butter in between the skin and the meat. Used chicken stock since I didn't have turkey stock. Delicious! I wonder how to get the bottom of the turkey to brown though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
Pretty straight forward. My only suggestion is to roast thighs up, and I promise yout turcky will be supremely moist. * must use meat thermometer. * must allow to stand for 15 minutes to rest the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DianeTampa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 290) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

A Simply Perfect Roast Turkey

Take the guesswork out of preparing the perfect roast turkey.

How to Roast a Turkey

See a simple beginner-friendly method for roasting a moist, beautiful turkey.

How to Prep and Roast Turkey

Watch a very simple method for prepping and roasting turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States