A Scotsman's Shepherd Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2015
I won't eat lamb in America because I can't get past the 'gaminess' taste. However I absolutely love this recipe and I even bought lamb to use in it! It's the only way I can eat it! Finally! This is a great recipe and everyone loved it! Even the kids! Try it and you will love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2015
having made this for 40 plus years I can truthfully say it's the best! Very authentic recipe and almost verbatim what I have cooked. WELL WORTH THE TROUBLE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
Loved this. Best shepherd's pie I have ever had. Had to add extra sugar to counteract the bitterness of the beer I happened to have on hand, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paper_Doll

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shannon Kauderer
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2015
Fantastic! Good enough for me to write a review, which doesn't happen often. I used YuengLing instead of Guinness, which worked out just fine. Guessed on the amount of potato's I used, most of a 5lb bag. (Whatever fit my large pot when boiling.) Will absolutely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon Kauderer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2015
This is the best shepherds pie I've ever tasted. I did use hamburger because I didn't have lamb. I used cornstarch to thicken it because I didn't want to use wheat. But everything else was the same and the taste was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2015
This was awesome, I doubled the recipe it fed 6 adults there was nothing left over I couldn't believe it! The Guinness was key. Will make often. I did not use sour cream or cheese in the mashed potatoes it was perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by don33taw
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2015
This recipe blows all others for Shepard pie. I made a few minor changes to the mashed potatoes. First I only use yukon gold potatos I leave the skin on and my secret to great mashed potatoes is I boil 1 cut up celery root with the potatoes and mash together, I also ground up some roasted garlic and combined that too. when I made the roux I made and used more then the recipe called for. I made all of it in a large cast iron skillet. fantastic look no further.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
Thank you for this wonderful recipe! When I told my husband we were having Shepherd's Pie for supper he was less than enthusiastic. As I was cooking this recipe he came into the kitchen and asked what smelled so good. The dish tasted even better than it smelled! I followed recipe except I didn't have any stout and had to make due with an Apple Ale ( I also made the gravy in the pan with the meat and veg as one reviewer suggested). My family has asked for this to be made more often. High praise indeed;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
Best Shepherds Pie I've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seth Bendix

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
Too much work and not that great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

A Scotsman's Shepherd Pie

See a version of shepherd pie with lamb, mashed potatoes, and Cheddar cheese.

Irish Shepherd’s Pie

See how to make an amazing shepherd’s pie with a special Irish twist.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States