A Scotsman's Shepherd Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 16, 2015
My husband is from Aberdeen, and he loved it! The beer 'gravy'' really makes the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nataliem60

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pine Village, Indiana, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: May 7, 2015
This recipe was fantastic. The only thing I did differently was double the vegetables and added some corn. Next time I will probably double the Guinness gravy and add more meat because it was so delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2015
I won't eat lamb in America because I can't get past the 'gaminess' taste. However I absolutely love this recipe and I even bought lamb to use in it! It's the only way I can eat it! Finally! This is a great recipe and everyone loved it! Even the kids! Try it and you will love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2015
having made this for 40 plus years I can truthfully say it's the best! Very authentic recipe and almost verbatim what I have cooked. WELL WORTH THE TROUBLE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Hamilton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
Loved this. Best shepherd's pie I have ever had. Had to add extra sugar to counteract the bitterness of the beer I happened to have on hand, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paper_Doll

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shannon Kauderer
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2015
Fantastic! Good enough for me to write a review, which doesn't happen often. I used YuengLing instead of Guinness, which worked out just fine. Guessed on the amount of potato's I used, most of a 5lb bag. (Whatever fit my large pot when boiling.) Will absolutely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon Kauderer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2015
This is the best shepherds pie I've ever tasted. I did use hamburger because I didn't have lamb. I used cornstarch to thicken it because I didn't want to use wheat. But everything else was the same and the taste was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2015
This was awesome, I doubled the recipe it fed 6 adults there was nothing left over I couldn't believe it! The Guinness was key. Will make often. I did not use sour cream or cheese in the mashed potatoes it was perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by don33taw
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2015
This recipe blows all others for Shepard pie. I made a few minor changes to the mashed potatoes. First I only use yukon gold potatos I leave the skin on and my secret to great mashed potatoes is I boil 1 cut up celery root with the potatoes and mash together, I also ground up some roasted garlic and combined that too. when I made the roux I made and used more then the recipe called for. I made all of it in a large cast iron skillet. fantastic look no further.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
Thank you for this wonderful recipe! When I told my husband we were having Shepherd's Pie for supper he was less than enthusiastic. As I was cooking this recipe he came into the kitchen and asked what smelled so good. The dish tasted even better than it smelled! I followed recipe except I didn't have any stout and had to make due with an Apple Ale ( I also made the gravy in the pan with the meat and veg as one reviewer suggested). My family has asked for this to be made more often. High praise indeed;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

A Scotsman's Shepherd Pie

See a version of shepherd pie with lamb, mashed potatoes, and Cheddar cheese.

Irish Shepherd’s Pie

See how to make an amazing shepherd’s pie with a special Irish twist.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States