A Potato Salad Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2003
My mother and aunt used to eat these all the time and I do too.I look forward to having leftover potato salad! Being purists we love it just spread on white bread with butter and extra salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2004
I've done this for years. I don't like meat, and my family does, so this is a substitute for making a separate meal for myself. It's also delicious. Here in Pittsburgh it's acceptable to add coleslaw to your sandwich, but I get strange looks when I ask for a sandwich with JUST coleslaw, potato salad, or macaroni salad. Glad I'm not the only one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2007
This recipe also made me smile...I actually made a little potato salad this evening to make a potato salad sandwich :) Mmmm...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2003
Delicious! I toasted the bread under a grill for just a minute first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2003
As a vegetarian, this has been a staple for me at picnics for years now. I am so glad to see that someone else has thought of this too. I've gotten wierd looks for eating potato salad sandwiches, and now I know I'm not crazy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2004
Great! I love my carbs. I added some cheese to it and was in heaven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2005
Actually, this has been a quite popular sandwich at Japanese bakeries and cafes since I've been alive. However, the Japanese potato salad is made slightly differently: Small chunks of apple are added, along with very thin carrot and onion slices. Mayo only, and seasoned with pepper and sea salt. YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2006
a good idea...is quick and very filling. i usually whole wheat bread instead, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
Without even trying this I am giving the idea 5 stars. I love potato salad and I love egg salad sandwiches, never thought of combining the two ideas. Will defintiely try next time I mke potato salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brooklyn, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2008
you know, when i first read this i thought it was crazy and weird but decided to try it anyway... i used mustard potato salad on toasted sourdough bread and added cheddar cheese. it was sooooo good. i wish i had some of my mom's homemade potato salad to throw on there to make it that much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Carlsbad, California, USA
Living In: Johnson City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Veggie Sandwich and Potato Salad

This grilled sandwich is so hearty, you could almost call it "meaty."

Southwestern Potato and Corn Salad Dinner

This tasty veggie-centric meal only tastes expensive!

Potato and Mustard Greens Salad

See how to make an intensely flavorful potato salad with spicy mustard greens.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States