A Potato Salad Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2003
Delicious! I toasted the bread under a grill for just a minute first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2003
As a vegetarian, this has been a staple for me at picnics for years now. I am so glad to see that someone else has thought of this too. I've gotten wierd looks for eating potato salad sandwiches, and now I know I'm not crazy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2003
My mother and aunt used to eat these all the time and I do too.I look forward to having leftover potato salad! Being purists we love it just spread on white bread with butter and extra salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2003
Don't laugh, but I make these everytime I have left over potato salad, which I did, so I ate one for my meatless Friday lunch. I sub mustard for the mayo, because I feel the salad has enough mayo. Great minds think alike, eh Jenny?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
I like doing this too. Don't see the need to add extra mayo, though, since potato salad typically has enough mayo as it is. Also: this is NOT a good alternative to peanut butter and jelly if you're taking it on a picnic or car trip because potato salad grows bacteria really quickly. At the 2010 Boy Scouts of America Jamboree, in which my family participated, lots of boys and leaders got food poisoning from potato salad that wasn't kept properly cold. It can be really nasty really fast if you're not careful...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anachronist

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2005
Actually, this has been a quite popular sandwich at Japanese bakeries and cafes since I've been alive. However, the Japanese potato salad is made slightly differently: Small chunks of apple are added, along with very thin carrot and onion slices. Mayo only, and seasoned with pepper and sea salt. YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
I'm pregnant & can't stand the thought of most meat so nearly everyday I try a different veggie sandwich for lunch. This was actually very good. I used a good wheat bread & added paprika
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cat Lady Cyndi
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
I really loved this!! I have so much potato salad leftover from Easter, I just had to give this a try. My salad is a very simple recipe using potatoes, mayo, mustard, relish, salt, pepper with a lot of hard boiled eggs. I skipped using the extra mayo because this has plenty. I really love the tomato with this, it's great. I will definitely make this sandwich again, as I always make too much potato salad during the summer months. Funny thing is, I used to see my Grandmother eat these all the time and never had the desire to try it. So glad I finally did, thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2006
a good idea...is quick and very filling. i usually whole wheat bread instead, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2004
Great! I love my carbs. I added some cheese to it and was in heaven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Veggie Sandwich and Potato Salad

This grilled sandwich is so hearty, you could almost call it "meaty."

Southwestern Potato and Corn Salad Dinner

This tasty veggie-centric meal only tastes expensive!

Potato and Mustard Greens Salad

See how to make an intensely flavorful potato salad with spicy mustard greens.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States