A Plus Fair Corn Dogs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2015
This is a wonderful corn dog recipe! They are light and fluffy and crisp on the outside just like it should be. My pot wasn't quite big enough to submerge all at once so cutting the hot dogs in half was a must so the batter doesn't run off. Also dipping in flour first and using a tall glass seems to get the best low mess results here. I didn't have any skewers and used take out chop sticks I cut in half and they worked perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BoatsandBirds

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
Really good. My only complaint is that the batter tends to fall apart when reheated in the microwave. And what was left out was that the hotdogs should be warm before battering and frying. I had to cut the hotdogs into thirds. The first time I made this recipe, I made the mistake of assuming the hotdogs would become hot while frying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steven Downs

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
Best corn dogs ever. They came out of the fryer just picture perfect. They were a hit with the family. I took the advice of dusting the hot dogs with flour before dipping. Batter stuck perfectly. I also used a tall glass for dipping. We got 9 beautiful dogs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bargello

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Ohio, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
Very yummy! Good quality hot dogs from the butcher made a big difference. I didn't have bacon grease, only cooked bacon, so I chopped it up real small and added that instead. I also didn't have any baking powder, and the dogs came out more tempura than cakey, which I liked. We had some leftover steak in the fridge, so I used the extra batter on small chunks to make steak bites - those were really good, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amanda May
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
I have a small fryer so I made mini corn dogs they were perfectly crisp, airy, sweet with out being too sweet. I can't wait to make these again but with a little spice added!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda May

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
Was much easier than I anticipated. I didn't have a deep fryer, and a large pot worked just as well. I used quite a but more oil to fully submerge the dogs. Kids loved them and thought it was a fun dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2014
Made these for my son's birthday party, and they were a HIT!! The kid's and grownups were coming back for seconds and thirds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Oldenkamp

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2014
I won't make this one again. too greasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
I love love love these
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rose Marie Bunch

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
These are A-MAZ-ING! Way better than the frozen ones in the store & rivals any fair corn dog I've had. If you're having troubles getting the batter to stick to your hot dogs or prefer a thicker coating then add 1/8 to 1/4 cup of flour to the batter. I used the suggestion to use a glass for the batter so it's easier to dip the hot dogs into. MAKE SURE you use a pot or deep fryer that is deep enough to submerse the ENTIRE hot dog ALL AT ONCE or you will have the problem some people mentioned about the batter "flaking off" the hot dog during frying. Mine did that until I used my Grade 9 Science knowledge to determine "It's Not The Recipe, It's You". Thanks for a great recipe, this one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Corn Dogs

See how to make delicious, crunchy corn dogs at home.

Coney Island Hot Dogs

See how to make America’s favorite beefy hot dog condiment.

Jan's Pretzel Dogs

Hot dogs wrapped in homemade pretzels make the perfect party snack.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States