A Plus Carrot Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
After making this cake, i deleted every other carrot cake recipe in my recipe box. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Buena Park, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
This is the best carrot cake I have EVER had. GREAT RECIPE!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
JUST what I want in a carrot cake. This is very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda
Living In: Ottawa, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2012
Oh my goodness - THE best carrot cake out there!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jael R.
Home Town: Brea, California, USA
Living In: Pontianak, Kalimantan Barat, Indonesia
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
Ok. First thing I did, was make a few changes based upon the reviews I read. Here are the things I changed: flour-3 cups; cinnamon-1 1/2tsps; nutmeg-3/4tsp; allspice-3/4tsp. Sugar is one where I made a big change: 1/2 cup of granulated sugar and 1/2 cup brown sugar - packed. An even bigger change was made where the oil was concerned. I used: 1/2 cup of grapeseed oil, 1/2 cup applesauce, and 1/2 cup of plain unflavored Greek yogurt. I omitted the vanilla by accident. The cake came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakingthetimeaway

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
OMG, OMG, OMG!!!!! THIS IS THE BEST CAKE EVER!!!! I am in love and officially addicted...I might get fat off of these cakes if I make them enough to satisfy my NEED for them!!! This cake disappeared the night I made it!!! That's like record time, 1 or 2 hours? The cake has the right consistency and is moist but not breaking apart moist. I love the way that the walnuts add a bit of crunch to the cake and the flavors change throughout one bite. I wouldn't take out the walnuts, raisins, or coconuts at all because they add so much to the cake. This truly is an A+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++ carrot cake! I will definitely cover it with whipped cream the next time I make this because I can really imagine how these two would fit together. It would make the cake better, if that's even possible!! The only thing is that I had to reduce the bake time by 15 minutes each time I made it. I don't know why, but it would burn otherwise. (I have baked it in multiple ovens too, so I don't get it!!) This is my first cake from scratch, but it made me look like a professional!!! This is totally the ultimate dessert!! Love it and will definitely make it for the rest of my life!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jael73

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh, India
Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
I think there may be a little bit too much 'stuff' for me- I will cut the raisons down next time to see if that helps. Overall a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
Always a favorite, and my husband asks for this carrot cake over and over. A++++++++++ for sure
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
Very tasty, moist cake! As per some reviewer(s) suggestion, I reduced the amount of oil (I used 1/2 cup oil, and 3/4 milk with 1 tsp vinegar to make it as buttermilk). Also as per another reviewer, I reserved the pineapple juice and used it to soak the raisins in it. I used golden raisins, not the regular dark brown raisins. I didn't have coconut, but I'm sure it would have tasted amazing in there. Instead of making cake, I made muffins, and baked for about 20-25 min. I also did a few muffins with a cream cheese filling. The filling I used 1 pkg of cream cheese, 1/4 cup of sugar, 1 egg yolk, 1/4 tsp lemon extract, 1 tsp vanilla. For the muffins with the filling, into the muffin tin I put 2 tbsp of batter, followed by 1 level tbsp of cream cheese filling, topped it off with more batter).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
Wow, this cake is the best! I never seen cake disappear that fast. Moist and delicious! I doubled up on the seasonings and added butter instead of oil, it came out divine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States