A Plus Carrot Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
After making this cake, i deleted every other carrot cake recipe in my recipe box. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Buena Park, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
This is the best carrot cake I have EVER had. GREAT RECIPE!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
JUST what I want in a carrot cake. This is very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda
Living In: Ottawa, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2012
Oh my goodness - THE best carrot cake out there!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jael R.
Home Town: Brea, California, USA
Living In: Pontianak, Kalimantan Barat, Indonesia
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
Ok. First thing I did, was make a few changes based upon the reviews I read. Here are the things I changed: flour-3 cups; cinnamon-1 1/2tsps; nutmeg-3/4tsp; allspice-3/4tsp. Sugar is one where I made a big change: 1/2 cup of granulated sugar and 1/2 cup brown sugar - packed. An even bigger change was made where the oil was concerned. I used: 1/2 cup of grapeseed oil, 1/2 cup applesauce, and 1/2 cup of plain unflavored Greek yogurt. I omitted the vanilla by accident. The cake came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakingthetimeaway

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
OMG, OMG, OMG!!!!! THIS IS THE BEST CAKE EVER!!!! I am in love and officially addicted...I might get fat off of these cakes if I make them enough to satisfy my NEED for them!!! This cake disappeared the night I made it!!! That's like record time, 1 or 2 hours? The cake has the right consistency and is moist but not breaking apart moist. I love the way that the walnuts add a bit of crunch to the cake and the flavors change throughout one bite. I wouldn't take out the walnuts, raisins, or coconuts at all because they add so much to the cake. This truly is an A+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++ carrot cake! I will definitely cover it with whipped cream the next time I make this because I can really imagine how these two would fit together. It would make the cake better, if that's even possible!! The only thing is that I had to reduce the bake time by 15 minutes each time I made it. I don't know why, but it would burn otherwise. (I have baked it in multiple ovens too, so I don't get it!!) This is my first cake from scratch, but it made me look like a professional!!! This is totally the ultimate dessert!! Love it and will definitely make it for the rest of my life!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jael73

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh, India
Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
I think there may be a little bit too much 'stuff' for me- I will cut the raisons down next time to see if that helps. Overall a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
Always a favorite, and my husband asks for this carrot cake over and over. A++++++++++ for sure
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
Very tasty, moist cake! As per some reviewer(s) suggestion, I reduced the amount of oil (I used 1/2 cup oil, and 3/4 milk with 1 tsp vinegar to make it as buttermilk). Also as per another reviewer, I reserved the pineapple juice and used it to soak the raisins in it. I used golden raisins, not the regular dark brown raisins. I didn't have coconut, but I'm sure it would have tasted amazing in there. Instead of making cake, I made muffins, and baked for about 20-25 min. I also did a few muffins with a cream cheese filling. The filling I used 1 pkg of cream cheese, 1/4 cup of sugar, 1 egg yolk, 1/4 tsp lemon extract, 1 tsp vanilla. For the muffins with the filling, into the muffin tin I put 2 tbsp of batter, followed by 1 level tbsp of cream cheese filling, topped it off with more batter).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
Wow, this cake is the best! I never seen cake disappear that fast. Moist and delicious! I doubled up on the seasonings and added butter instead of oil, it came out divine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States