A Piece of the Tropics Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
This came out amazing! I wasn't sure it was going to bake correctly as the mix is very wet, but the finished product texture is like that of a pecan pie. I made 2 of these in 7 in springforms with a graham cracker crust, and the recipe makes just enough. With a few small changes, this could be a perfect Passover dessert (make the crust from coconut, very fine matzoh meal instead of flour.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
I had high hopes for this recipe as I love pecan pie and the idea of a tropical twist was intriguing. I followed it to a “T” and took it to a friend’s house for an Asian/ Tropical inspired dinner party. All agreed it was beautiful. There was no doubt it would be a rich pie based on all the ingredients plus the melted butter poured over it but all 6 of us were overwhelmed. I guess “rich” and “sweet” are relative terms but this tipped the scale for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mickdee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
great RICH dessert - you only need a small piece-
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Little River, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: May 8, 2011
This pie was delicious! I am 20 and have been making pies since I was roughly 13 and my own pie crust since I was 16. So I made my own pie crust instead of a store bought one and added a small amount of coconut to the pie crust and it just gave an extra interesting flavor to the pie! I highly recommend making your own pie crust!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
I made this pie for my dad for christmas. My dad is pretty honest and does not tell me what i want to hear (on anything). he said to give this pie 20 stars, i said sorry dad only goes up to 5 lol. He said his favorite pie is pecan but now that has changed to this one. I am a beginner in this and making this pie was very easy and it came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Marion, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
it was really sweet and a big disappointment- the texture was strange also
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sanbornville, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Rochester, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
Excellent recipe ! So sweet and yummy ! Everything you would imagine a tropical pie would have - coconut, pineapple and macadamia nuts and the added marashino cherries make it look beaufiful ! Will definitly make again ! thanks for this yummy recipe !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
This pie was really good. I made it for my Dad for Father's Day. He loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crowley, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
I recently made this recipe for a family gathering and everyone loved it ! A previous review said that this pie was too sweet..she's crazy. What would you expect when the creator said that this was a version of pecan pie which is very sweet in itself ? As for the macadamia nuts...yes they are on the pricey side, but no one ever said that you couldnt substitute them for another cheaper kind of nut. I have made this twice - once with macadamian nuts and the other 50/50 with macadamian and toasted pecans. Both times this pie was sweet, rich and oh so yummy !! You definitly want to have a big glass of milk to drink with this heavenly delight !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
Much too sweet and very expensive. (Macadamia nuts were $6!) I wish I hadn't wasted my time on this one. Some people at Thanksgiving dinner said it was good, but I think they were just being nice. My close relatives said YUCK.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChristyLoo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

Chef John’s Pecan Pie

Pecan pie with the perfect ratio of nutty crunch to sticky sweetness.

Caramel Pecan Pie

See how to make a nutty, buttery pie with a sweet touch of chewy caramel.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States