A Pad Thai Worth Making Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 7, 2014
This is a great, flexible recipe. I didn't want to go to a specialty store to get the ingredients for the sauce, so for the fish oil, I used the oil from sardines (and added a chopped-up sardine for good measure), I used soy sauce instead of oyster sauce, and used lime juice from concentrate, and added a little bit of vinegar to give it more punch. I also skipped the bean sprouts and used carrots (cut like match sticks) and shredded cabbage. I cooked the chicken and garlic first, then took that out and cooked the veggies until they were done, then removed them to add the egg, then noodles, sauce, etc. I skipped the shrimp too...and even with all these changes the recipe turned out fantastic. It was better than any restaurant pad thai and my boyfriend loved it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2014
This is my go-to recipe for Pad Thai although I've made a couple of minor adjustments. The noodles need to soak longer than 20 minutes or you will end up with chewy, stuck together noodles. I pour boiling water over them and let them set 30-40 minutes. I do not use white sugar. It does not help at all. Use 2 tbsp brown instead and if it's still too salty for you (the fish sauce is super salty) add more and maybe more oyster sauce. The recipe says to divide the chili paste but never says where to add it in after the 2 tbsp to the sauce. I like mine spicy so I add it all in to the sauce. Family love this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Fluffy
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
Delish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
My husband judges a Thai restaurant by their Pad Thai recipe so I was hesitant to try this on him. However, he gave it a good review and I've made it a bunch of times. I am not a fan of chicken so I use shrimp and tofu and double the sauce. It's perfect for us. I adjust the heat for days my kids are eating it with us and they love it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2013
This recipe was lacking a ton of flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
Pretty good but it was missing something
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pikeville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Mount Sterling, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
We followed the recommendation to add the tamarind and cut down the lime juice and it was fabulous! Thanks for the suggestions and recipe. It's now one of our favorites
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Awesome and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
Very good. We have moved to a town that does not have a Thai restaurant. This is a good substitution. I used half the spice but barely noticed the heat. I will decrease the lime and increase the pepper sauce next time I make this meal. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
Tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pad Thai

Watch a Thai chef make this authentic Thai noodle dish.

Pad Thai

See how to make a great pad thai at home.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States