A Pad Thai Worth Making Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
This was absolutely wonderful. Here were my modifications: 1T Tamarind paste instead of fish sauce. 1/2 of the lime juice, Tamari sauce instead of oyster sauce, added thinly sliced carrots, and doubled the sauce. I also boiled the noodles first, instead of the soaking method which can make rice noodles gummy. Will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
It tasted a little too fishy. I wish I would of read the reviews before I made this, I would of added the tamarind. I probably wouldn't have used all that fish sauce either. But it is a good recipe to start with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2010
This was really good. Gave it four stars because there needs to be more sauce in the recipe. Next time I will be doubling or tripling the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scarborough Fair

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Prunedale, California, USA
Reviewed: May 12, 2010
I made this for my mom on Mother's Day and she loved it. It was very simple to make. I just added a little bit more sugar than suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunshine

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
I made this and I thought it was OK. Except it was SUPER salty. I did as some others suggested and doubled the sauce but I didn't add any extra anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
Delicious! This was my first time making phad thai, and I was pleased. I took the suggestion of another reviewer and added tamarind paste (1 T). I also omitted the oyster sauce (didn't have it) and the shrimp (don't like it). Next time I will add a little more sugar to counteract the tartness of the tamarind. Oh, I also reduced the chili sauce just a bit as I am a bit wimpy with spice. With these changes, the recipe is nearly perfect. Four stars for an excellent recipe as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
I still needed to add ketchup and I wanted more spice rather than heat so I will add ginger next time. But a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by adriannap

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Yummy Yummy Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
Tons of flavor in this dish. I thought too much of it came from the fish sauce though. It was too strong for me. I had to double the chicken because I didn't have shrimp. This dish was fun to cook, but again the fish sauce was too strong for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
Ok I have now made this like a gazillion times. It is totally awesome. The only changes I made were to add tamarind paste and to double the sauce. Oh I also put in peanut butter. Everyone who has it wants more and the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pad Thai

Watch a Thai chef make this authentic Thai noodle dish.

Pad Thai

See how to make a great pad thai at home.

Thai Red Chicken Curry

Check out this delicious and easy to make homemade chicken curry!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States