A Number One Egg Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2006
Excellent and authentic appearance and taste. Rave reviews every time I've made it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2006
I made this to go with spinach dip and everyone at work loved it. i would recommend doubling the sugar, using just 6 eggs instead of the 3 eggs and 6 yolks, and baking for 20min tops. This is a great recipe that I will be making often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2006
Absolutely fabulous! This was the first time I have ever tried making bread. I read about "proofing" on this site so I did that and I did use my stand mixer with the dough hook. I turned the oven on the lowest temp. then turned it off and let the dough rise in there with the oven door open.I couldn't believe how much the dough had risen the first time. A wonderful aroma will fill your kitchen when baking this bread. When it comes out of the oven all a lovely dark golden brown colour you will be amazed. "A work of art"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cynjne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2006
The texture is ok. But it's WAY too eggy for me. It was cooked in 20 min. I tripled the sugar and still it was just slightly sweet. I don't think anything could overpower all those egg yolks. Bummer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
I was looking for a recipe to use up some eggs, and came across this one. This bread came out wonderful and looks and tastes amazing! If you are looking for a more dense challah or egg bread, don't try this recipe. This recipe makes a very light and fluffy loaf. And for those of you who don't like to eat challah plain, try it with whipped cream cheese, it is sooooo good! Thanks for the recipe, it was a good way to use up extra eggs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ali

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2005
Wow Kevin! Loved this version of Challah very much. Only change I made was subbing honey for the sugar. I made two loaves out of the dough; one of which I gave as part of a Christmas gift. So pretty and glossy! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2005
I make thanksgiving dinner rolls out of this recipe and everyone loved them i have been asked to make these again for christmas thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
Imade this recipe for one loaf again this week I added 2 TBS extra sugar with slight improvement in taste. Used 2 1/2 cups flour instead of 2 1/4 as recommended. Found consistency of bread much better. This time bread rose to nearly 4". If you cook for 40 minuetes as directed you will probably end up with charcoal at 375 degrees. Found 25 -26 minutes adequate for one loaf.Note: there are inconsistencies in recommended amounts of eggs and flour in recipe. This should be corrected. Bread very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hixson, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2005
This bread is beautiful to look at and tastes good, especially when I used it in the Baked French Toast recipe on this site. CAVEATS: I did double the sugar. I bake in a 24-inch oven (smaller than traditional) and at 22 minutes in was running to the oven to discover a very dark loaf that was already smelling done. I covered it to stop more browning and let it finish it's time. I'm a lazy baker and a dough this sticky was very hard on my mixer, so next time, I may try kneading by hand. But it is super-light and makes a great braid, and my kids loved it as regular toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
This bread is phenomenal, and the aroma while it's rising and baking was more wonderful than you could imagine. And yes, it does bake up to be one enormous loaf, but for Thanksgiving, I'm going to make it into individual rolls. I have the feeling they're going to be the hit of the gathering. Try this recipe...you won't go wrong! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

How to Make the Sponge for Homemade Bread

Your sourdough starter is ready. Now it’s time to make the sponge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States