A Number One Egg Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
Absolutely deserves 5 stars! I halved the recipe, added 2 Tbsps. honey for kicks, and sprinkled poppy seeds on top of the egg wash. One added note about this bread - unlike almost every other homemade recipe out there, this one remained acceptably fresh and soft for three days in a large ziploc bag - that's very rare and valuable!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
I halved the recipe and, as other reviewers suggested, just used 3 whole eggs. I also added 1/4 cup of honey. I was not happy with the results--the bread did not rise enough and was crumbly? BUT, since I didn't stick to the original recipe, I didn't think it was fair to ding the rating too much. Just thought I'd warn other cooks to think twice before tweaking the original version too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
This is on of the best recipes I have used. It is so easy and make. the whole recipe will make 2 big loaves. So I. make 1/2 the recipe for just the two of us. The amount of flour depends on the size of the eggs. Also, I use 3 whole eggs and forget the egg yolks. I always buy jumbo eggs so in half the recipe I use almost 3 cups of flour, also I use 1/3 cup sugar. So it is an easy recipe to add your own influence too. No matter what you do, it turnes out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MommyFromSeattle
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
Very moist and tender. I used 1/3 cup sugar for a little sweeter taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyFromSeattle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
A fabulous recipe! I added a 1/4 cup honey but otherwise didn't alter the ingredients. I proofed the yeast with the sugar for about 10 min before adding the rest of the ingredients. I made two loaves from the resulting dough rather than one and let them rise a bit longer than called for during the second rise. They made very normal-sized challah loaves. Beautiful and very delicious. They only needed 20- 25 minutes in the oven. I sprinkled them with kosher salt before baking and they looked great. I think they turned out perfect, and I have tried a wide variety of challah (or egg bread) recipes on this site. Thank you, I have a new go-to recipe for my challah!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by betabear

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
Absolutely awesome! Added 1/2 cup honey and made two yummy loaves!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
This is a great recipe. When I'm short on eggs I substitute 3 eggs in place of the 6 egg yolks. I also use 1 3/4 t of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2008
Very simple and delicious. Makes a LOT of bread. It looks very pretty and professional, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2008
Oh my goodness, Kevin... this is the softest and best braid I have ever made. Thank you for sharing the recipe. I made the dough in my bread machine and also took note of comments made by other reviewers. Firstly, I made 1/2 the quantity and baked only 20min (altho next time, I will make two and give away one since baking time is so short), doubled the quantity of sugar and substituted whole eggs for the egg yolks (ie. 6 egg yolks =3 eggs). Because I used whole eggs, I needed a bit more flour. I just added flour bit-by-bit and watched the dough form until I was satisfied with how it looked and felt. Still thought it could do with either a bit more salt or sugar - can't decide which one. Now this is how I've always wanted my braids to turn out but never succeeded. I can imagine this looking great if baked in a loaf tin too or with the addition of raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
This is so delicious! I love it! One note I want to make is that if you try to make this into one loaf, it will probably be gi-normous. I have made this twice and have always halved the recipe (the loaf is still huge!), and a half-recipe will only need 20 minutes in the oven. ( One trick I learned from Alton Brown on an episode of "Good Eats!" is to let the dough rise in a (not turned on)oven with a pan of hot water beneath it. Also, if you've ever had trouble getting the yeast to rise - like myself - make sure you stir the yeast in the sugar-water until it completely dissolves, then let it sit for a couple minutes 'til it gets really foamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Braided Easter Egg Bread

Round, braided Easter bread decorated with natural or dyed eggs.

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States