A Number One Egg Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
This bread did not have much flavor and I used farm eggs. It seems like the salt or something needs to be tweeked. The free range farm eggs were very dark orange and made a beautifully colored bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trio

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Elgin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
so so so good!! i have made this a few times and always comes out well! last time i made it i left it in the oven 5 minuets too long so was a little dry so make sure you check the oven times!! but i "saved" it by crumbling it up and using it for bread crumbs!! this is a very rich sweet bread that will please all!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
This was my first time making bread at home from scratch, and I wanted to make something close to hawaiian bread. I love this recipe, and I'm excited to try it again! I baked it 45 minutes by distraction, and the crust was a little tough,, but the taste was awesome! Next time i'll just have to watch it more carefully :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HawaiIrish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calimesa, California, USA
Living In: Beaumont, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
The most beautiful bread I've ever made. I read the reviews and divided it into two loaves. They were both HUGE, beautiful and delicious! It does only take about 25 minutes to cook though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lovinlife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE LOOOVE this bread! I found the recipe a few weeks ago and Ive already made it about 6 times. I usually make it as is or sometimes I double the sugar. It always comes out PERFECT. PLEASE WATCH THE COOKING TIME! Ive never cooked it any longer than 30 minutes when making one big loaf. Ive been making 2 loafs from this recipe, and they only take about 25 minutes usually at the most. This bread is also very good the next day. I am so glad I found this recipe, its a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kari

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
This is requested at every function I attend... they absolutely love it. It barely has time to cool before they're pulling plugs out and eating it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ILEANA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
Nice airy bread but to dry for our tastes. I will try this again and see if it improves. I will add a little more sugar, melted butter and not cook as long (I cooked 29 minutes and it was very crusty)maybe 20 minutes as I see others said. Wish I had read reviews first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centralia, Washington, USA
Living In: Rochester, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
Turned out well. I advise adding more sugar so have more taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fit04

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2009
I halved the recipe. Used 1/4 cup warm water to proof yeast; added pineapple juice to make required liquid, increased sugar to 1/3 cup, and baked for 25-30 minutes (all ovens vary). As soon as it's cool enough, I have a slice, because it's gone in no time. My family can't get enough of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
I must have done something terribly wrong - came out very gooey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Braided Easter Egg Bread

Round, braided Easter bread decorated with natural or dyed eggs.

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States