A Number One Egg Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
The most beautiful bread I've ever made. I read the reviews and divided it into two loaves. They were both HUGE, beautiful and delicious! It does only take about 25 minutes to cook though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lovinlife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE LOOOVE this bread! I found the recipe a few weeks ago and Ive already made it about 6 times. I usually make it as is or sometimes I double the sugar. It always comes out PERFECT. PLEASE WATCH THE COOKING TIME! Ive never cooked it any longer than 30 minutes when making one big loaf. Ive been making 2 loafs from this recipe, and they only take about 25 minutes usually at the most. This bread is also very good the next day. I am so glad I found this recipe, its a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kari

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
This is requested at every function I attend... they absolutely love it. It barely has time to cool before they're pulling plugs out and eating it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ILEANA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
Nice airy bread but to dry for our tastes. I will try this again and see if it improves. I will add a little more sugar, melted butter and not cook as long (I cooked 29 minutes and it was very crusty)maybe 20 minutes as I see others said. Wish I had read reviews first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centralia, Washington, USA
Living In: Rochester, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
Turned out well. I advise adding more sugar so have more taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fit04

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2009
I halved the recipe. Used 1/4 cup warm water to proof yeast; added pineapple juice to make required liquid, increased sugar to 1/3 cup, and baked for 25-30 minutes (all ovens vary). As soon as it's cool enough, I have a slice, because it's gone in no time. My family can't get enough of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
I must have done something terribly wrong - came out very gooey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
This recipe was great! I followed the directions exactly, except for the time it took to bake. I baked mine for about 20 min and it turned out perfect! The family loved this bread and it was so easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
This bread came out so good. I cut the recipe in half and came out with a huge loaf. I don't know what I would have done if i made the whole thing. (baked in 2 batches?) I did let it rise an extra time, but it was soooooo good. I will defenitly make again. I used this bread in the baked french toast recipe and it's in the oven now yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by greenbabby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Port Richey, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
Absolutely deserves 5 stars! I halved the recipe, added 2 Tbsps. honey for kicks, and sprinkled poppy seeds on top of the egg wash. One added note about this bread - unlike almost every other homemade recipe out there, this one remained acceptably fresh and soft for three days in a large ziploc bag - that's very rare and valuable!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

How to Make the Sponge for Homemade Bread

Your sourdough starter is ready. Now it’s time to make the sponge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States