A Number One Egg Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by Ryan Tribbett
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
Perhaps I screwed up the recipe, but I followed the directions and the bread was heavy and dry, didn't rise very much, the top cracked and was unusually hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ryan Tribbett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
I found this to be so good although I really think it needs a tiny bit more sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
I cut this recipe down to 1/3 and it was fairly easy. The bread had a wonderful texture but definitely needed more sugar, or something else...I will try again with a few changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misscarolb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Half Moon Bay, California, USA
Living In: Enterprise, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
This bread did not have much flavor and I used farm eggs. It seems like the salt or something needs to be tweeked. The free range farm eggs were very dark orange and made a beautifully colored bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trio

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Elgin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
so so so good!! i have made this a few times and always comes out well! last time i made it i left it in the oven 5 minuets too long so was a little dry so make sure you check the oven times!! but i "saved" it by crumbling it up and using it for bread crumbs!! this is a very rich sweet bread that will please all!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
This was my first time making bread at home from scratch, and I wanted to make something close to hawaiian bread. I love this recipe, and I'm excited to try it again! I baked it 45 minutes by distraction, and the crust was a little tough,, but the taste was awesome! Next time i'll just have to watch it more carefully :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HawaiIrish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calimesa, California, USA
Living In: Beaumont, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
The most beautiful bread I've ever made. I read the reviews and divided it into two loaves. They were both HUGE, beautiful and delicious! It does only take about 25 minutes to cook though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lovinlife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE LOOOVE this bread! I found the recipe a few weeks ago and Ive already made it about 6 times. I usually make it as is or sometimes I double the sugar. It always comes out PERFECT. PLEASE WATCH THE COOKING TIME! Ive never cooked it any longer than 30 minutes when making one big loaf. Ive been making 2 loafs from this recipe, and they only take about 25 minutes usually at the most. This bread is also very good the next day. I am so glad I found this recipe, its a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kari

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
This is requested at every function I attend... they absolutely love it. It barely has time to cool before they're pulling plugs out and eating it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ILEANA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
Nice airy bread but to dry for our tastes. I will try this again and see if it improves. I will add a little more sugar, melted butter and not cook as long (I cooked 29 minutes and it was very crusty)maybe 20 minutes as I see others said. Wish I had read reviews first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centralia, Washington, USA
Living In: Rochester, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

How to Make the Sponge for Homemade Bread

Your sourdough starter is ready. Now it’s time to make the sponge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States