A Number One Egg Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
The bread was okay at best. It was plain tasting. It was also very crumbly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by liz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
Great tasting bread! I made it exactly as written and turned out two large braided loaves and 4 small buns. A little disappointed in the texture. It was moist but almost crumbly kind of like a sponge cake. I was hoping it would be a bit chewier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookies!Cookies!

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
Fantastic and simple recipe! Scaled it way down to 6 servings and shaped the dough into round buns instead of braiding. Beautiful golden brown sheen on the outside, fluffy and light texture on the inside. I sprinkled mine with poppy seeds after the second egg-wash, and they make the end result very attractive. Delicious! Make a batch today and your kitchen will smell heavenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
it was ok, it needs more sugar. the kneading was a sticky mess i had to add flour while i was kneading so i could free my fingers from the stickyness of the dough. it bakes really fast, i got distracted and left it over 40 min. i guess it only takes about 25 min. it was dark on the outside but the core was fluffy. i would probably modify it next time by adding sugar or honey and some butter to add flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2010
1/2 the recipe and add a little more salt... it comes out of the oven looking great :) I will totally make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jtimion

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
I made pecan rolls with this recipe-amazing...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Edgecliff Farm

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Prineville, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
Delicious! Light and fluffy, crispy outside. Halved recipe, baked only 22 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
I did the same as others and halved the dough. Made one nice loaf. I had a little problem because I was short an egg, but I just used the whites from the 6 eggs I only needed yolks of and made do. Very good bread but boy did it make a mess of my kitchen! Super sticky and hard to manage during the kneading process. Other than that, though, it was good. My first time to make it. Can't wait to put it in my French toast casserole for the morning!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathryn Ham

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richardson, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
Excellent Tasty Recipe, But yes Reduce Cook time on One full Loaf by 7minutes.. comes out perfect.. This a family lover
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ExecChef

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Morristown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ryan Tribbett
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
Perhaps I screwed up the recipe, but I followed the directions and the bread was heavy and dry, didn't rise very much, the top cracked and was unusually hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ryan Tribbett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

How to Make the Sponge for Homemade Bread

Your sourdough starter is ready. Now it’s time to make the sponge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States