A Number One Egg Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
I followed the recipe as written but the bread came out very dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
The recipe is huge, and cutting it in half would yield a nice sized loaf. The bake time recommended is far too long; I baked mine for about 25 or 30 minutes. The bread is very light, however it is also quite flavorless. I will not be making this bread again, unless the french toast I make with it turns out to be out of this world... Kind of defeats the purpose of making fresh bread at home, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
This bread was very light and fluffy, not the richer, denser egg bread I was hoping for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
Overall, the recipe is excellent, and tasting it made me discover that this might very well be how some of my favourite Chinese buns are made. It came out fluffier than anything I've baked yet, and might become one of my favourite methods to use. The only problem that I have with the recipe is that it called for much too little flour, or too much moisture. I accidentally used all 560g of bread flour to begin with, which is (I presume) all 4.5 cups, but the pre-rise mixture was too sticky, and unworkable. Seeing as how the recipe uses AP flour, this should have been more than enough, but I ended up adding...perhaps another 100g of flour to the mixture to get the cohesive unit that I am used to working with. If anyone could post what they used in baker's percentages, that would be fantastic. I would love to make this again, but it would help to have a solid recipe for reproducibility. Thanks everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
Pretty good recipe! Used it to make Challah bread this past Thanksgiving and although we are not Jewish it came out excellent. The only thing I would change is cutting the recipe in half unless you are cooking for a large crowd. it is a time consuming process but can't really expect anything else since it is homemade and if done right it is worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lisa
Reviewed: May 12, 2012
This recipe was a hit with my family! Easy to make and so very tasty! Like many others commented it does make a very large loaf ( a bit bigger than a new born baby) but I think thats great because it is going to go fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
I followed the recipe to the letter, smoke came out of my oven after 23 minutes, but the middle of the bread was still unbaked, so i let it stay in there the full 40. The outside of the bread is completely burnt, and though the inside is OK, the taste is nothing noteworthy, reminds me of bad grocery store egg bread. Maybe halving the recipe helps, but I doubt it helps the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
not even 2 minutes out of the oven and it's half eaten! Tip, cover bread with foil the last 15 minutes of baking, to prevent over browning, excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dolce Cuoco

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
This recipe actually teeters between 3 stars and four stars. The dough was easy to mix and kneaded well. It took a longer time to complete its first rise. Cooking time also needed to be decreased as well, so keep a sharp eye on your bread. Finished product was pretty, the texture was good, and the flavor was a light sweetness (suprisingly not overly eggy). I personally did not care for the flavor, but my husband and kids liked it. So for me it was only a 3 star, but my hubby and kids gave it 4 stars. This makes a lot of bread (you could actually get two decent sized loaves). I cut the recipe in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
wohoo~ first time ever making bread and I got it right >__
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Braided Easter Egg Bread

Round, braided Easter bread decorated with natural or dyed eggs.

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States