A Number One Egg Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: May 13, 2004
I have to say this is the BIGGEST loaf I've ever baked. I also would make it into 2 smaller loaves next time, unless you're doing it for a party... it certainly looks IMPRESSIVE as one giant loaf. And with the egg wash- it's just so pretty. Be careful with the time in the oven. Mine only took about 30 minutes. Check it with a thermometer. A loaf like this should read between 200-210 degrees when it's done. Don't overcook it. It is very light. The only change I would make to the recipe is adding just a tad more salt and maybe 1/3 cup sugar instead of a 1/4 cup (but I DO like my bread a little sweeter). It is the lightest textured loaf ever, just melts on your tongue. Would definitely make it again. But if you're looking for the rich tasting challah bread that you used to get in the bakery, this isn't it. It is in a class by itself, but not a substitute for traditional challah. Excellent for french toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happycamper26

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Bonita Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2004
Excellent Challah bread - it even came good when I cut the recipe in half and made a smaller loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2003
I have to admit, I was a tad disappointed in this. From all the rave reviews, I was expecting this to be spectacular. It wasn't bad, mind you, but it wasn't something I would rave over. While it did come out very light and fluffy, I found it a little on the dry side, and lacking a little flavour. I'm sure it will be great used at french toast or bread pudding (I still have one and half of the loaves left), it's not something I would eat on its own. I baked two loaves rather than one, and they were done in 25 minutes. I think I'll stick to the Challah I recipe from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Uxbridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2003
Even though I read the other reviews, I forgot to make two loaves. No matter. I made one, gigantic loaf of this bread, and it is delicious! It is light and crusty and wonderful. A person looking to win a ribbon at a county fair could do worse than bake this bread. BTW, I baked mine for 45 minutes, but I covered it with tinfoil for the first 30 minutes. Thanks Kevin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MACKALLEN
Home Town: Superior, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Auburn, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2003
I made the bread into two regular loaves and baked it. When I put it into the oven, it was the regular sixe of bread, but when I took it out the loaves were HUGE. They looked like a couple of double decker buses. But oh so yummy!!! We did try french toast and it was delicious. Will definently make this again. I don't want to invest enough effort to braid it, but maybe three or four loaves would be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2003
Great! - played with it a bit - proofed the yeast (fast acting worked better), added 1/4 cup honey, 1tsp salt plus more flour since it was sticky, plus did a second rise after kneading. Topped one with sesame, the other with poppy seed-also 30 minutes at 350 worked better. Irrestible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2003
This is the best bread I have ever eaten! It is very rich. I made half of the recipe. 1/8 cup of honey made it just a little sweeter. Coating the top with egg as directed gives the bread a beautiful shine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2003
Abs fab! Light, oh! so light an egg bread! On the advices of several people, I used half the recipe. I also proofed the yeast and let the dough rise one extra time. Delicious! Feathery! A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2003
I have made a lot of bread and many recipes, but this one is the best of all. Thanks for sharing it. One tip...divide the bread into at least 2 loaves. It is very large recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tyler, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2003
This bread was delicious. It looked beautiful. The loaves were larges with a crisp crust and wonderful soft, moist insides.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

How to Make the Sponge for Homemade Bread

Your sourdough starter is ready. Now it’s time to make the sponge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States